Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
tasty salad. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This salad was great. We don't like overly sweet dressings, so I cut the sugar drastically and added a little garlic salt. It also saved well and didn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've made a version of this recipe for the last 25 years. It's an apsolute favorite with our families. Instead of cauliflower I use sliced hard boiled eggs and chopped tomatoes. I layer with lettuce, sliced thin red onion, peas, dressing, eggs, tomatoes, bacon and mixed mozzarella and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Fehr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Traditional family dishes give you an opportunity to share wonderful family stories associated with the foods. For Seven Layer Salad, I'll just say that the instructions should include the phrase "Toss before serving." One time my sister-in-law prepared this in advance so that my brother would serve it to the family gathering (she was going to be arrive late). Well, my brother served the children a "spoonful" such than one got the bacon, one cheese, one lettuce, and my son (who will never forget it) got only mayo!! This story is ALWAYS retold when the salad appears and we laugh again and again. Regarding the recipe, I agree that 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream tastes better.... but be sure to toss the salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I used to make a very similiar salad years ago. I used romaine instead of ice-berg. I would use a glass salad bowl and stand the romaine from the bottom to the top, with the top of the romaine going slightly over the edge. Then, the cheddar cheese would be the last ingredient. This way, it ended up looking like a flower! The pedals are the green romaine and the flower center is the cheddar cheese--very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I have been making this salad for years and while I usually do the same ingredients every time, sometimes I change it up a bit. It really doesn't matter, the key to me is that the "dressing" be simple, just mayo with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. For somne reason, most people think the dressing is more involved than it actually is. One thing I have done is made a "Southwestern" version layering ingredients like romain lettuce, black beans, corn, tomatoes, purple onion, sliced black olives and shredded Mexican Blend cheese. Then I top it off with mayo mixed with salsa (be careful to not make it too runny. A good substitute version for certain occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My mother has been making a version of this salad every single Christmas of my life. Instead of a sweet dressing (we aren't sweet dressing kind of people) she does salt, pepper, and quite a bit of lemon juice. It is fantastic and I recommend that to people who look for a tangier dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I love this wonderful salad, and have made it many times. One reviewer suggested putting the dressing at different layers, if you do this iyou will have to much dresing.My recipe calls also for chopped ham, or turkey that you layer after the lettuce peas, onino etc: then another small layer of lettuce and then the ham or turkey. I top mine by spreading the dressing on top and then sprinkle shredded mild chedder cheese. and it looks really pretty. this salad with some crusty bread makes a wonderful lunch, or as a side to a full meal.The bacon gives such a wonderful flavor. Janie coffia, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Haven't ever made this, but your sauce made me remember my chicken pasta salad recipe that I lost. I just added a little milk to thin and fresh ground pepper to it as well. So I'm glad I read this recipe and have now printed it off, so I don't lose my chicken pasta salad sauce again. My recipe boil chicken breasts and chop, 1 red onion finely chopped, frozen peas, chopped red and green bell pepper, pasta your choice and this sauce but with milk added to thin with a little salt and fresh ground black pepper. Great on a bed of iceberg lettuce with roma tomato wedges on the side or use to stuff an avocado. Sometimes I would add a little fresh lemon juice to kick it up a notch with a little more parmesan or romano or asiago cheese mix. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Schanhals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a staple for our Thanksgiving table. The recipe i have has chopped water chestnuts instead of cauliflower tho - and 2 T. honey instead of white sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States