Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a family favorite that I've been making for about 5 years. Nice to be able to make in advance of the dinner and not be burdened with that additional work on "the" day. Enjoyed by all ages in my family, even the kids. Wonderful recipe and the only changes I make is to layer the ingredients, even the dressing. Makes for a lovely looking salad in addition to being tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My grandma used to make this salad and I have been trying to find the recipe! I am thrilled. This is a delicious salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My sister in law always made layered salad, but I was never impressed. The glob of mayo on top turned me off & it always felt like it needed mixed up to avoid a bite of one ingredient. Then my friend came over for a cook out & I watched her mix up a salad, lettuce, mozzerella cheese, eggs bacon, peas & optional onions. She then tossed it all with the mayo/sugar dressing. OMG it was amazing. I started making it this way & my inlaws & parents declared it their favorite salad & request at all get togethers. Just throwing this out as an alternative to a great salad. BTW mayo goes on right before serving & make sure lettuce is dry to avoid being runny. I rinse lettuce the day before & dry in fridge with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is my favorite salad. The only difference is that I always use sliced hardboiled eggs and chopped tomatoes (or halved cherry tomatoes) instead of the chopped cauliflower. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We've had this same recipe in my family for years, but without the peas or cheddar cheese. Also, for the dressing we use 1 cup of mayo, 1/3 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. Definitely a glass bowl is a must to see the layers. Lettuce, cauliflower, bacon, repeat and put dressing on just before serving and toss to coat. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I make a salad like this, but a lighter, vegetarian version. Use low-fat mayo and cheese. Substitute "bacon" chips for the bacon. It is delicious and no one knows it is "light."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Tasty yes, maybe once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe without any changes and its really good. Next time I think I will add dsg then top with the cheddar cheese because of appearance of it. Its appearance just wasnt as appealing to me with the salad dressing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This recipe was great. I had to make a lot of substitutions but it worked well and everyone loved it. Makes a lot so use a LARGE pretty bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
DEEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States