Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The dressing makes this. I left out the peas as I don't like them but otherwise it's very good. It only lasts a day or so and the lettuce gets really soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wow! Classic salad with a thumbs up from all of my family members, from ages 2 to 36! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I was searching for the 7 layer salad from the past but wanted a new spin to it too when I ran across this one. I added zest by adding bleu cheese crumbles along with the shredded cheese. I also added broccoli chopped in small pieces along with the cauiflower and thinly sliced radishes. I also added granulated garlic along with mayonnaise dressing. My husband said it was the most perfect salad he has ever had. I will also add some chopped red pepper and boiled eggs sliced thinly the next time. It makes a very pretty salad to serve as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natrisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The dressing on top was to be spread to the edge to seal it and keep it fresh when ready to eat you mix it all up before you put it out for your friends this is a old recipe you can change vegies to please your self
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
You need to know that after a night in the frig this salad compresses quite a bit and looks NOTHING like the picture!! I panicked initially but after I tasted it, all was good. This salad lends it self to using various ingredients but do not expect the end product to look like the picture!!! I took the advice of previous suggestions and made the dressing with 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of light sour cream. That was a good choice. The next time I will use perhaps 3/4 cup of each as it was a bit too much dressing for me. A bit too soggy for my taste. I added the parmesan and sugar as well. The dressing seemed a bit plain so I added a good bit of ground pepper. I'm wondering what other herbs might be nice in this dressing. As far as ingredients I choose to use a combo of some fresh salad greens from the farmers market with chopped romaine, a layer of sunflower shoots (again from the farmers marked) the chopped red onions, defrosted peas (a good addition), the cheese, some thinly sliced cucumbers, some orange and purple cauliflower (the colors make the salad pop), the bacon (a must) then the dressing. Whatever you have on hand use it. This is a yummy salad. Got lots of complements. I will try again using less dressing and "kicking it up" with more herbs. Great for a make the day ahead potluck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Excellent. Used a lb and a half of bacon, would like to add eggs next time. Also used light sour cream for half the may (do not substitute lower calories mayo in the dressing) Made 1 1/2 of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Love all combinations of this salad. I used what we had from a veggie standpoint...broccoli, carrots, celery, iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, shelled edamame, red onion and cheese with the dressing as written. Very refreshing side to lobster tails and roasted red potatoes. Thanks Leah for your base recipe which is also wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHYCRUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States