Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband is not a big seven-layer salad fan, but as soon as he tasted this he commented immediately about how good it was. He raved and raved...and so did several others when I brought this to them as part of a meal. They asked for the recipe! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Great recipe, it is very similar to the one I make. This is the perfect side dish for any family gathering it goes well with any entrée. We even order pizza and have this as a side dish for a quick meal with the in-laws and everyone loves it! I make this in a glass 13 x 9 pan so I make a little bit more dressing: 2 cups mayonnaise, 3 tablespoons sugar, 2 teaspoons lemon juice. Don't worry about the dressing being too thick-just spread it on with a spatula and it will be fine. It holds together better when you serve it this way and doesn't drip all over the plate! I layer this differently in a 13 x 9: Iceberg lettuce, then the other chopped vegetables ending with the onion, so that it touches the dressing (The flavors meld well together if these are touching). Then I layer on half the cheese, the bacon and the rest of the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
5 star base...5+++ star with our taste pref additions you may want to consider trying. Ingredient layers we added: (1) diced vine ripen tomatoes; (2) ripe avocado, (3) 1/3c. sunflower seeds. To the dressing, sprinkled in: (1) 1Tbsp. Ranch dressing dry mix (2) 1 Tbsp. chipolte hot sauce. Thanks for a fantastic base easily taylored to incorporate a variety of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made this for our 4th of July BBQ and I was surprised how many people had never tried it before! It was a picnic/potluck staple for me growing up. First, I would tell everyone to plan on it taking more than 15 minutes to make! It takes time for everything to cool. It's also very important to let your lettuce dry on a towel for a good 15 - 20 minutes. We added extra onion, used less mayo (don't use reduced fat, you'll be sorry), about 2 cups of cauliflower, and probably about half the bacon (because we ate it before it made it into the salad!). Great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsvesti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My mom made 7-layer as a child, but I always stuck my nose up to things without trying them. I LOVE this salad! My husband found the recipe and used it for work. It was my special request for Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was delicious.. everyone loved it. Perfect salad for summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Recipe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
My mother in law made a salad so good that i had to look it up. It was just like this one cept instead of califlower she used chopped celery. So I substite the califlower with celery and added some raisins as well. Tasted even better than my Moms! Ive made this 3 times now and tempted to make it again just writing this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make seven layer salad but I use lettuce,onions,green pepper and then mayo in the middle,bacon,peas and cheese. My son request I make this at every cookout. I will try this though as I am most certain I will like it too. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is something good to have in the refridgerator ready to go for a light dinner and I substitute with what is on hand. The dressing for this is thick and I would sub mayo with other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my favorite salad recipe! I usually make extra dressing, and use half the lettuce. I just buy a big bag of pre-washed lettuce from the store. I also cook the bacon on a cookie sheet in the oven and then crumble it when it cools down. I have streamlined this a lot. There is a restaurant in our town that uses the recipe and it tastes exactly the same as mine! Great pick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States