Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Perfect recipe for the classic Seven layer salad! I ommitted the sugar (only because I hate that sweet taste and it reminds me of Miracle Whip). I also substituted with 1 c. mayo + 1 c. sour cream and it turned out perfect. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
It has all the right incredients BUT it's important to have the correct layering AND you don't need sugar if you use Miracle Whip (instead of mayonaise). It should be lettuce on the bottow, then peas, mayo (having the mayo in the middle helps mix it all together when you scoop it out), we use chopped carrot and celery instead of cauliflower sometimes, onion, cheddar cheese and bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I wanted a 7 layer salad recipe, so I chose this one for my base and made changes. I use pre-cooked bacon pieces (1 pkg), and substitute diced salad cucumbers for the cauliflower as a personal preference. My biggest change is the dressing, as I tried the one with the recipe and just didn't like it. I use fat-free sour cream and 1 pkg of ranch dressing mix instead. Many people have told me they like it much better than the mayo dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My family loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June Kathrein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I read the reviews of some others and decided to add some packaged dry dressing mix to the mayo. I'm glad I did or it would have been a little bland. I also added some sunflower seeds and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This salad is soooo good. It looks beautiful and the recipe is so flexible....just add what you like and omit what you don't. My salad ended up with 9 layers and was a HUGE hit. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again. Drawbacks: It makes a ton of salad, and it is not good left over. It gets too soggy to eat later. So, adjust amout of salad or invite a few more people over to help eat it, but definitely try it.....so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I make this all the time. Suggest that you "layer" each ingredient a couple times, even three times if your dish is deep enough. Looks prettier and mixes everything better. I use ranch dressing & mayo evenly. I play with all the different ranch flavors on the market. I've used a variety of lettuce types: romaine, red & green leaf... adds a dimension to the colors. I haven't tried the cauliflower, used boiled eggs instead. But will try that. Great summer dish to take to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used another reviewer's suggestion of thinning the dressing. I mixed 2/3 cup of Greek plain yogurt with 2/3 cup of mayo, 1 tb. of white sugar and 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese. It came out so tasty I started eating a few spoonfuls before adding to the salad! I spooned out the dressing in the center of the salad and barely had to spread it to the sides. I then refrigerated and let the dressing slowly percolate through the top layers. This is the second time I made this and definitely plan on a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious! I added some extra veggies that my family enjoys but otherwise stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this 7 layer salad yesterday for my sisters 42nd birthday, family get 2gether. It was off the chain!! I'm still getting calls about how great this salad was. My sisters boyfriend did the Seven Layer Salad dance & he doesn't even like cauliflower LOL!!!. I did take heed to some others comments & made a few changes of my own I used the spring mix salad ,a bag of shredded cheddar cheese mixed with other cheeses, 1 cup of mayo 1 cup of sour cream, about 1/2 a cup of ranch dressing & I also used a bag of the Italian fancy shredded parmesan cheese & doubled the dressing & spread it on top & everything else just as the recipe said & it was a HIT with my family & friends I will be making this one again 2 big thumbs up. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita Raie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States