Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Best salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pettis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I think you all might be missing the point about this salad. Mixing the dressing in defeats the purpose - that being that this is a long lasting salad. We once had one last - shockingly, because the entire family loves it - for 6 days. Try having a tossed salad last that long. Once it is dressed, you have 4 hours, tops. (And that's stretching it.) We have been making this salad for over 30 years, and often have it at Christmas and Thanksgiving. The only difference in the recipe that we use and this one is we use green onions instead of red, we make it in a 13x9 glass pan and leave out the parmesan. And you must make sure the greens (we use Romaine, subtle difference) is bone dry and so are the peas. Moisture in the bottom of the pan definitely shortens it's life. Please don't mix everything in and miss the best plus of making this. How hard is it for each person to give the items a little stir on the plate with a fork? Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Everyone loved this at my last party! I am making it again for 4th of July. Everyone finds something to pick out but it's not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Banacka Laubach

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made for a potluck for 10 people. Read reviews and only made slight changes based on recommendations to the dressing (3/4 c. light mayo, 3/4-1 c. of 5% sour cream, and 1/3 c. of ranch dressing. Kept the parmesan cheese and sugar in the recipe - though used maybe 1 tbsp. of sugar). Used a prewashed bag of iceberg lettuce (with other veggies in it). Layered 1/2 of dressing on bottom of bowl, then salad, then onion, bacon, shredded cheese, and peas(didn't use cauliflower). Put another layer of dressing on, followed by salad and lighter amounts of onion, bacon, peas and cheese on top. Because this was a salad that was going to be eaten by different staff over the course of two breaks and refrigerated in between the breaks, I decided to put dressing on the bottom of the bowl, hoping that there would be enough dressing left on the salad for those coming in for it second break. Thanks for the recipe--they devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Just like my mother-in-laws! She was from the South!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used 1 cup light Mayo and 1 cup lite sour cream with 2/3 cup parmesan cheese for the dressing . I left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Love it make it all the time. I like extra dressing so we double that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this for a work function... needless to say it was the first thing to go.The only thing I did differently was use 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of sour cream..it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I thought a pound of bacon seemed way too much, so I used a 12-ounce pack. It shrunk down a lot though when cooked crispy for crumbling, and a pound would have been better. As suggested by another reviewer, I used a cup each of mayo and sour cream (both reduced fat) to make the dressing easier to spread. It was still a bit too thick, so next time I'll add a couple tablespoons of milk. I'll also omit the sugar. Don't know if the low-fat mayo I used (Duke's) was sweeter than regular, but my dressing came out way too sweet. I'll make this again because it's a great salad for the buffet table, but I'll tinker some more with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States