Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this for a work function... needless to say it was the first thing to go.The only thing I did differently was use 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of sour cream..it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I thought a pound of bacon seemed way too much, so I used a 12-ounce pack. It shrunk down a lot though when cooked crispy for crumbling, and a pound would have been better. As suggested by another reviewer, I used a cup each of mayo and sour cream (both reduced fat) to make the dressing easier to spread. It was still a bit too thick, so next time I'll add a couple tablespoons of milk. I'll also omit the sugar. Don't know if the low-fat mayo I used (Duke's) was sweeter than regular, but my dressing came out way too sweet. I'll make this again because it's a great salad for the buffet table, but I'll tinker some more with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious! adjust dressing to 1 Cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. OK to use light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is outstanding....The dressing is the only thing I modified. Here's the details.. -1 cup sour cream and 1 cup mayo -4 Tablespoon sugar -4 Tablespoon red wine vinegar -1 1/2 cups or more..Grated Reggiano Parmigiano (good quality). Family and friends alike loved it...made it Christmas day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
We love this salad. Such an amazing flavor!!! We did need to double the dressing though. It is very thick and does not drizzle but who cares...it's super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Everyone loved, just what I was looking for in seven-layer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe and it is always a hit at potlucks and family get togethers. Suggestion for the dressing... put it into a bag and pipe it onto the salad. Then gently spread it over the salad. Just before serving, add some chopped tomato and sliced hard-boiled egg over the top of the dressing. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great recipe. very easy to adjust to your likings and still turns out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Delish!! Maybe next time I will add some sweetcorn but over all fantastic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I just made this salad tonight for dinner and everyone absolutely loved it. My husband is very hard to please I might add. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States