Seven Layer Mixed Up Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I've made it a couple of times. I'm not fond of onions so I left them out the second time. The sweetness of the peas is great with the crunch of the celery and bacon. I added another teaspoon of salad dressing mix the second time. TIP: I tossed the half frozen peas in because I was late for a potluck. It kept the mixture cold until I got there. A friend suggested I add roasted peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I added a little more ranch mix than called for. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
What do you do with a box of peas and some leftover cooked bacon? Make this salad! Not content to leave well enough alone, I made a few changes. Didn't have grape tomatoes - used a chopped, seeded tomato instead. Added crushed garlic, dill, extra ranch powder, a bit of cayenne pepper and a splash of red wine vinegar. I also threw in a few tablespoons of mayo and used half cheddar, half bleu cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was so delish, I had two people ask for the recipe. It's super yummy, super fast and a super hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I was surprised by how much I like this recipe. Also, surprised that I'd never thought of this myself. Everything I love about traditional 7 layer salad, simplified, and ready to serve in just an hour. Brilliant. I add hard boiled eggs, and cashews to mine. Sometimes, I miss the iceberg lettuce, so I use this as a topping to lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very, very yummy! I added chopped brocolli instead of the tomatoes, and I used purple onion instead of green onion. I also added a little more of the salad dressing powder. I will definitely make again. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made it for a potluck and had to give the recipe to everyone there. I did quarter the tomatoes to make them alittle easier to eat. Also added a little mayo to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Thanks for sharing. For those of you who think its a little bland add an extra tsp of ranch seasoning. I like to put this on a bed of lettuce, no dressing needed. Also very great for the brown bag lunch, just keep the luttuce seperate until ready to eat. You can also use 1/2 mayo & 1/2 sour cream and toss with cooked pasta of your choice and you have a wonderful Bacon Ranch Suddenly Salad. Wonderful recipe thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Photo by flaglady
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Love this salad so much that I made it again just so I could take a photo and submit it...now viewers can see how delicious it is. The only thing I did different is add the bacon at the last minute, so it stays crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flaglady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
this is always nice to have at parties or even for a light dinner on those night you just dont want to cook. so easy to prepare and always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States