Seven Layer Mixed Up Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made it for a potluck and had to give the recipe to everyone there. I did quarter the tomatoes to make them alittle easier to eat. Also added a little mayo to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I've made it a couple of times. I'm not fond of onions so I left them out the second time. The sweetness of the peas is great with the crunch of the celery and bacon. I added another teaspoon of salad dressing mix the second time. TIP: I tossed the half frozen peas in because I was late for a potluck. It kept the mixture cold until I got there. A friend suggested I add roasted peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this was good, but I missed the lettuce. Next time I will use this as a topping on a bed of lettuce, and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
What do you do with a box of peas and some leftover cooked bacon? Make this salad! Not content to leave well enough alone, I made a few changes. Didn't have grape tomatoes - used a chopped, seeded tomato instead. Added crushed garlic, dill, extra ranch powder, a bit of cayenne pepper and a splash of red wine vinegar. I also threw in a few tablespoons of mayo and used half cheddar, half bleu cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Thanks for sharing. For those of you who think its a little bland add an extra tsp of ranch seasoning. I like to put this on a bed of lettuce, no dressing needed. Also very great for the brown bag lunch, just keep the luttuce seperate until ready to eat. You can also use 1/2 mayo & 1/2 sour cream and toss with cooked pasta of your choice and you have a wonderful Bacon Ranch Suddenly Salad. Wonderful recipe thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I added a little more ranch mix than called for. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
People at the picnic I took this salad to raved about it. I liked this recipe but I wished I had cooked the peas and not merely thawed them. The salad was better the longer it sat in the fridge but it was absolutely BEST when I stirred the remainder into store bought potato salad. I don't think I will ever make potato salad any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I was surprised by how much I like this recipe. Also, surprised that I'd never thought of this myself. Everything I love about traditional 7 layer salad, simplified, and ready to serve in just an hour. Brilliant. I add hard boiled eggs, and cashews to mine. Sometimes, I miss the iceberg lettuce, so I use this as a topping to lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaglady
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Love this salad so much that I made it again just so I could take a photo and submit it...now viewers can see how delicious it is. The only thing I did different is add the bacon at the last minute, so it stays crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flaglady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
it was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States