Seven Layer Magic Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Beware! The measurements in this recipe are incorrect. When I was making it for a church social I should have listened to my brain. I'm not a novice in the kitchen, but I followed the recipe exactly even though my gut told me to add 1/2 cup more graham cracker crumbs because it didn't look like enough to cover the bottom of the pan. It wasn't. Also 2 cups of each kind of chips is too much. Use one cup of each. Crust was too thin and I wasted the extra chips. This is a rich recipe anyway and the extras add extra fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
What a disappointment that was! The ingredients are delicious...no question about that.....but I wish I had read the reviews first. I absolutley agree that the crust was way too "greasy" and the chocolate was way too much for the recipe. The pan size should be downsized. The recipe needs to be adjusted. I am so happy I did not make this to take to a function or I would have been making a quick trip to a bakery to pick something up. There is no way I would take this mess anywhere. My hubby who has a sweet tooth turned his nose up at this one. What a waste of good ingredients. I learned to always, always, always read the reviews first before you make anything from this website no matter what the rating. Is the taste good? I never met a chocolate I didn't like. Did it present well? NOT AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Copswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is pretty much the standard recipe. Agree with the other review that said that the crust was too thin. Double the graham cracker crumbs. I also put less chips than called for and prefer walnuts. This is a rich dessert but always goes fast. Chocolate lovers will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This is my favorite recipe!! it is amazingly good and if you know how to cook you would have figured out about the butter and just fixed it for next time!! Reviews aren't for complaining!! Just Eat!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
i have been making these for over 20 years and are always a hit for what ever occasion they are made for. recently i made them for a picnic and used mini M&M's in place of the nuts because of nut allergies. these are so versitile as you can change the chip flavors or the type of nut to fit the occasion. i make a variation using just the chocolate chips,pecans and coconut for a german chocoalte flare. the only thing i do different than the recipe states is using a small cookie sheet instead of a 9x13 pan because i like them to be a litte thinner and crisper instead of thick and gooey, but it is just a matter of taste. no matter what ingredients or size of pan you use, they will always be a hit and never any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This is a very yummy recipe with only one alteration I can find. The crust is not enough for the size pan the recipe calls for and is very greasy. I added another 1/2 cup of crumbs and no more butter and it was enough to cover the pan and be less greasy. Other than that these are great bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really tasty, but I made a couple of modifications. I used 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs which I mixed with the butter and pressed into the pan. I used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch and probably used only 1 1/2 cups of each of the chips. Next time I'll probably pour the milk on the crust first, then sprinkle the chips on top and press down. Regardless, the bars were rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Very yummy! However, I did double the amount of butter and graham crackers and reduced the amount of chips in the recipe, according to other reviewers. These are always a hit at parties! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I added Heath toffee chips (about 1 cup) as the layer before the peanuts. Also, you must use salted party nuts because they are sort greasy and taste great when they are cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My mom used to make these all the time when I was a child. I LOVE THEM! I unfortuately live in a country where they don't have graham crackers, imagine that!!! Anyway, I winged it a bit. I use some coconut cookies crushed with butter for the crust, then omit the peanuts and use the chips as described, they turned out great. A treat my kids and hubby love! The coconut cookies actually added a very nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States