Seven Layer Magic Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Use the 'Seven Layer Bars' recipe for correct measurements. I like that it has walnuts instead of peanuts too (although I used pecans this time!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
i have been making these for over 20 years and are always a hit for what ever occasion they are made for. recently i made them for a picnic and used mini M&M's in place of the nuts because of nut allergies. these are so versitile as you can change the chip flavors or the type of nut to fit the occasion. i make a variation using just the chocolate chips,pecans and coconut for a german chocoalte flare. the only thing i do different than the recipe states is using a small cookie sheet instead of a 9x13 pan because i like them to be a litte thinner and crisper instead of thick and gooey, but it is just a matter of taste. no matter what ingredients or size of pan you use, they will always be a hit and never any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This recipes was pretty good except, for a couple of problems. One as many others have said add more graham cracker crumbs, I used about two cups and it still wasn't enough. I used a little less than four cups of chips total. The bars are good when they come out but they were even BETTER when left in the refrigerator for a few hours. Very good bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really tasty, but I made a couple of modifications. I used 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs which I mixed with the butter and pressed into the pan. I used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch and probably used only 1 1/2 cups of each of the chips. Next time I'll probably pour the milk on the crust first, then sprinkle the chips on top and press down. Regardless, the bars were rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I added Heath toffee chips (about 1 cup) as the layer before the peanuts. Also, you must use salted party nuts because they are sort greasy and taste great when they are cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This is my favorite recipe!! it is amazingly good and if you know how to cook you would have figured out about the butter and just fixed it for next time!! Reviews aren't for complaining!! Just Eat!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My mom used to make these all the time when I was a child. I LOVE THEM! I unfortuately live in a country where they don't have graham crackers, imagine that!!! Anyway, I winged it a bit. I use some coconut cookies crushed with butter for the crust, then omit the peanuts and use the chips as described, they turned out great. A treat my kids and hubby love! The coconut cookies actually added a very nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
GREAT IDEA BUT WAY TOO RICH. USE HALF THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS AND BUTTERSCOTCH AND DOUBLE THE GRAHAM CRACKERS, THEN IT IS A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I didn't exactly follow this recipe. I just "eyed" everything. I used choc. chips, peanut butter chips, walnuts, marshmallows, and coconut and it turned out fabulously! But I ended up covering it with foil for the last 5 minutes so the marshmallows didn't burn. But wow... Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
What a disappointment that was! The ingredients are delicious...no question about that.....but I wish I had read the reviews first. I absolutley agree that the crust was way too "greasy" and the chocolate was way too much for the recipe. The pan size should be downsized. The recipe needs to be adjusted. I am so happy I did not make this to take to a function or I would have been making a quick trip to a bakery to pick something up. There is no way I would take this mess anywhere. My hubby who has a sweet tooth turned his nose up at this one. What a waste of good ingredients. I learned to always, always, always read the reviews first before you make anything from this website no matter what the rating. Is the taste good? I never met a chocolate I didn't like. Did it present well? NOT AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Copswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States