Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great recipe - fun to make. One tip: if you are going to plate your jello out of a mold, make sure to spray or oil the plate that you turn it out on. I lost my 7th layer because it stuck to the plate. Might be a no-brainer for you - but it never occurred to me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This dessert is so wonderful! To add additional flavor, I add fruit to the jello/evaporated milk mixture and put it in the blender (i.e. mandarin oranges to orange jello, crushed pineapple to lemon and strawberries to strawberry jello.) My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelbr13
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I personally do not care for any kind of gelatin so I find it amazing that I love this! I used strawberry, grape, berry blue, orange, cherry, apricot, raspberry from bottom to top, how awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
We happen to like Jell-O at my house so this is quite fun. I'm not really fond of the evaporated milk layers though, and the trick is to pick several flavors that will taste nice together...if I did this again, I'd probably pick 2 flavors and layer them. I also didn't have space in my 13x9 pan for a 7th layer...not without sloshing it all over, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This recipe is a lot of fun! My children ask for it constantly and look forward to times when we have to bring a dessert to make it! Its also a good idea to add fruit to some of the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very pretty gelatin salad. I wanted to make it in my jello mold, so I poured half of each batch of liquid gelatin into the mold and the other half into a greased loaf pan. This worked perfectly! The gelatin looked great and tasted great also! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I have been making this for years and it is always a crowd-pleaser. It's worth the time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've made this for over 20 years but I use sour cream instead of the evaporated milk. Use to take me hours to make it till I starte putting each layer in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Don't leave it in the freezer too long or the layers won't stick to each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
VERY artificial and definitely not a crowd-pleaser (I've found out not many like gelatin!) but conversations will never die with this salad around! It's time-consuming, yet really easy to make if you follow the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
We have been making this for years. The only difference is instead of evaporated milk we mix in coolwhip or icecream (for the cold water part. Makes a nice sweet creamy jello! Hope that helps those of you who dont like the evaporated milk idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States