Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe is so much fun!! I made it for a birthday at work to go with the cake mainly because I wanted to see what it looked like and it turned out beautifully! I tell you adults love it! I made it in a casserole dish and the 7 layers filled it to the top but the layers were thinner and would look better if they were thicker. But with a layer of whipped topping on the top was yummy! Next time I'm going to make them in wine glasses for individual desserts! You could do so many colour combinations for different holidays! I also put each layer in the freezer for about 25 minutes, which cut down on the time quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This dessert is so wonderful! To add additional flavor, I add fruit to the jello/evaporated milk mixture and put it in the blender (i.e. mandarin oranges to orange jello, crushed pineapple to lemon and strawberries to strawberry jello.) My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelbr13
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I liked the presentation of this dessert. The milky layer was very creamy, and even though I enjoyed it, there was only so much I could handle. Next time I'll make less of the creamy layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is better than I remember as a kid. What a great recipe. It does not need whip cream at all. It reminds me of a sucker. I made mine in 2 large pie plates and a few wine glasses. I only did 5 flavors but it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
After seeing it at places, I knew I had to try it for myself. This was the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
good different treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
We happen to like Jell-O at my house so this is quite fun. I'm not really fond of the evaporated milk layers though, and the trick is to pick several flavors that will taste nice together...if I did this again, I'd probably pick 2 flavors and layer them. I also didn't have space in my 13x9 pan for a 7th layer...not without sloshing it all over, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I've been searching for this recipe -- I haven't made this yet, but it's delicious and kids love it! I can't wait to start cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe. I have made it for years. You can also sub sour cream for the evap milk and it comes out awesome. I make it every year for Christmas- its very festive and colorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States