Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
some of my layers seperated once I turned the bunt pan over. They didnt stick to the pan or anything its just the layers for somereason didnt stick to eachother all that well. Maybe I didnt let them cool long enough before adding the next layer, or maybe it cooled too long...ahhhh i dont know. the layers that stayed tgether were very pretty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This looked really cool. I made it in a 4x9 glass bread pan and only used 3 boxes jello. When I placed 3/4"x4" slices on plates, they separated on the plate. After I cut them in half 3/4"x2", they stayed together better. The problem may have been that it didn't stay cold enough. I packed the salad in the bottom of my cooler in ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
While very tasty, I found the layers a bit thin to be visually pleasing; the next time I make this, I'm going to use a bowl/dish instead of a 13"x9". Also, I found out the importance of not waiting until each layer is completely set before adding the next: sliding! I waited a bit too long for each layer, and they all began to separate on our plates. Still yummy, but next time I'll pay more attention to the clock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Very creative and festive in a clear glass dish or bowl. Instead of the evapoated milk I used vanilla yogurt or if the jello was a red like cherry, stawberry ect. I used the same kind of yogurt. Good and nutitious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I love this gelatin salad. It is my favorite. Note: It does not come out as lovely as the pic on this recipe if you make as directed. The layers are thin. I think you could get the same result by using smaller container and less layers of jello or doubling each layer. I also had read to grease the dish you are serving it on so that it lifts easily and wish I had remembered to do it. I think it was yummy with the evaporated milk and easier to do than most layer recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
It came out looking nice - but we didn't like it. Instead of evaporated milk, i used non-dairy whipping cream to make the lighter layer of the jello. If you make this recipe - make sure you have a lot of time on hand and things to do while you wait for the layers to solidify, as there are many steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! Looks stunning in a trifle bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
It looked pretty but tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Jello is about as basic as it gets, but adding the evaporated milk makes it sooo much better. I like to do one red and one blue made with water, in separate pans. Once firm, I cut into cubes and put them into a mold. I cover them with a double batch of pineapple (or some other light color) mixed with the evaporated milk. Looks very fancy when you cut the mold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Nice recipe. I used 6 different flavors and added fruit to some of the layers. Pineapple with lemon jello, mandarin oranges with the orange jello, strawberries with the strawberry jello. I added the evaporated milk to the layers with the fruit. It was beautiful, fun to make and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States