Seven Layer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Everyone loved this, but we all agreed it needed to be WAY more spicy. I substituted cream cheese for half of the sour cream, used a packet of taco seasoning in the beef, and another packet in the sour cream / cream cheese mixture. A half cup or so of canned sliced jalapenos as layer #8 makes this a lot better. If you like guacamole, use about twice as much, because the recommended amount isn't enough to even spread out to make a whole layer. You wouldn't notice if you left it out. I'll make this one again; it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very old standby recipe that has been served again and again with fantastic results! First of all, this recipe is fine as written and served, but our crowd typically likes a little more flavor and kick. Differences that I would suggest is to brown your beef with a packet of taco seasoning (no water), 1.5 tbs of cumin, 1 tsp of chili powder 1 tsp of garlic and 2 tbs of dried minced onion. Added finely chopped cilantro with the black olives, tomatoes and green onions. Mixture of pepperjack and cheddar cheese gave the dip more complexity than straight cheddar! Superb flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I recently had a party with some people who enjoy good Mexican food...and they DEVOURED this! The key that made this 7-layer dip so successful is the LACK of taco seasoning in the refried beans. I've used that in the past, called for in other recipes, and it's just not good to me. I asked my sisters about it, and they've said they just leave it out because there's a strange after-taste. We grew up near the border and had alot of great Tex-Mex, and this recipe SHINES above any other I've tried. I prefer not to use canned refried beans, rather to go to one of the local Mexican restaurants and get a pint of their beans--they're just better if you want to WOW your guests...something different about the texture. Texans close to a Pancho's know what I mean. If you don't have time to make your own guacamole, Walmart sells a good one put out by AvoClassic, plain or spicy in a box with two 8 ounce packages that you can mash a little more, or not. I took a Mexican cooking class while a student in Mexico, but many of these recipes are just as good...including this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Seven Layer Dip is a classic that you just can't go wrong with. You can leave out any ingredient that you don't like, so it is easy to adjust for any taste. I add taco seasoning to the meat after browning. Warning though, if you add the water it will make the dip hard to scoop. Just add enough water to disolve the seasoning. I also add a jar of nacho cheese sauce to my beans. I like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This recipe deserves nothing less than five stars! I used homemade guacamole from another recipe on this site, replaced the salsa with taco sauce (we don’t like chunks of veggies), omitted the black olives and chopped tomatoes, and I added a can of seasoned black beans for more texture. This dip is excellent served hot – if you don't like the thought of eating cold food right out of the can, you can assemble the dip, minus the sour cream and guacamole, and pop it in the oven at 400 degrees for about ten minutes, then top individual servings with sour cream and guacamole. Delicious! I served mine up with guacamole flavored Doritos, it was a hit! I’m making it again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Excellent. I omitted the guacamole and upped the sour cream to 16 oz. Added 2 TBS of taco seasoning to sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This dip was incredible! There were only 4 of us so I cut the recipe in half and served it in an 8" square glass dish. I used the same amount of sour cream though and instead of using guacamole, I mashed 2 advocados with 1 tbsp lime juice. Also I added half a package of taco seasoning to the ground beef and mixed the other half of the package with the sour cream. My only complaint is that because this dip is so heavy, the nacho chips kept breaking when they were dipped in (and we even used the scoops ones) so it might be a good idea to keep a spoon handy. And don't forget the margaritas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I have made this dip many, many times :) Everyone loves it....it goes really fast!!!!I follow the recipe exactly and it turns out perfectly everytime! Great for any party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is a great and easy recipe. My family loved it, and always asks for it during family gatherings and holidays. It's a little messy to prepare (especially for klutzes like me) but after assembly it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I made this for a Bunco party and it was a big hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States