Seven Layer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by nicki
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I served this appetizer at a book club meeting and got rave reviews! The whole 9 x 13 pan was gone in 15 minutes flat. Perfect. . .I didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
To me the qty of some of the ingrediants for a 9 X 13 pan were not enough. I changed/used the following: 2 pounds ground beef, I browned the ground beef and then added Taco Seasoning like the previous reviews. 2 (16 ounce) can refried beans with jalapenos 1 (16 ounce) container sour cream 1 (16 ounce) container guacamole 2 cup salsa 1 cup chopped tomatoes 1 cup chopped green onions I did not change the other ingrediants quantities. All in all a good recipie...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years and always get requests for the recipe. We do it a little bit differently by omitting the meat which makes the preparation much faster and easier. We layer the refried beans on the bottom and then sprinkle taco seasoning and mix it in! This gives it a great taste and adds spice. Omit the salsa and place chopped fresh tomatoes on top and cover with the cheese. Its a little difficult to make the layers look nice but once you cover it in cheese you can't tell the difference. Best served warm! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good! Made it for my husband's Birthday Party and everyone gobbled it up. That speaks for itself!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
To me, this recipe needs something else to give it more flavor and "depth." I thought it was a bit bland when made as directed. Update: Today I made this again but with a few additions which did the trick for us. Though this recipe is not designed to be a "taco" dip, it really does need something more. Therefore, like many other reviewers, I added a pkt of Taco Seasoning mix (no water) & 1 tsp of garlic bits to the ground meat as I browned it. I kept everything else the same (except omitted guacamole since we don't like it) and then baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. It was great served warm with Frito Scoops! I think the secret ingredient (besides the taco mix) is the blend of Cheddar and Jack cheeses. This dish makes a "pretty" presentation for the table. BTW, if you do add Taco seasoning, do not add salt. It will be too salty for most people. Thanks DPerez7 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i have used this same recipe from "seven layer dip I" for several years now, and i finally registered to rate and review it! It is by far the BEST TASTING seven layer dip i've made/tried!!! Perfect ingredients, not too much going overboard, and just the right stuff to make it taste good, I've always received raves about this seven layer dip and will continue making it in the future :D does great in big group gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
this is amazing!!!!!!! i brought it to my school 4 mi class, they loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very old standby recipe that has been served again and again with fantastic results! First of all, this recipe is fine as written and served, but our crowd typically likes a little more flavor and kick. Differences that I would suggest is to brown your beef with a packet of taco seasoning (no water), 1.5 tbs of cumin, 1 tsp of chili powder 1 tsp of garlic and 2 tbs of dried minced onion. Added finely chopped cilantro with the black olives, tomatoes and green onions. Mixture of pepperjack and cheddar cheese gave the dip more complexity than straight cheddar! Superb flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was good. I added some hot sauce and some taco seasoning to give it more flavor as others had recommended. Left out the guacamole as we don't care for it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States