Seven Layer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great! I don't like the olives but this dish is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Good recipe, easy to make. I added fresh cilantro to the tomato/olive topping to give a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
As is, this recipe was not that great but it is a great base for a great recipe! The way I now make this dip is as follows: I make the beef as if I were making regular tacos, I "drain" some of the salsa "juice" into the sour cream and mix it together so it's not just tartness. I throw it under the broiler for 5minutes, then I top it with lettuce, tomatoes, and olives and leave out the green onions since I hate them. I used Kraft shredded mexican cheese blend, and old el paso fat free spicy refried beans. I like a bit of spice and this way was a good balance of spicy without overpoweringly hot. Do like Taco Bell - Let Sour Cream sit out for a few minutes to soften (Not room temp just 5 minutes or so) then put it in a pastry/zip bag and squeeze it out for easy spreading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used taco seasoning mix with the groud beef. It was a big hit for the Super Bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe! It's a crowd favorite! I had to modify it a little to appease my picky eaters. Instead of salsa, I used enchilada sauce. I also added salt, garlic and onion to the ground beef to intensify the flavor. Also, before topping it with the tomatoes, green onions and olives, I toss it under the broiler for a couple minutes to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicki
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I served this appetizer at a book club meeting and got rave reviews! The whole 9 x 13 pan was gone in 15 minutes flat. Perfect. . .I didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
To me the qty of some of the ingrediants for a 9 X 13 pan were not enough. I changed/used the following: 2 pounds ground beef, I browned the ground beef and then added Taco Seasoning like the previous reviews. 2 (16 ounce) can refried beans with jalapenos 1 (16 ounce) container sour cream 1 (16 ounce) container guacamole 2 cup salsa 1 cup chopped tomatoes 1 cup chopped green onions I did not change the other ingrediants quantities. All in all a good recipie...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years and always get requests for the recipe. We do it a little bit differently by omitting the meat which makes the preparation much faster and easier. We layer the refried beans on the bottom and then sprinkle taco seasoning and mix it in! This gives it a great taste and adds spice. Omit the salsa and place chopped fresh tomatoes on top and cover with the cheese. Its a little difficult to make the layers look nice but once you cover it in cheese you can't tell the difference. Best served warm! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good! Made it for my husband's Birthday Party and everyone gobbled it up. That speaks for itself!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
To me, this recipe needs something else to give it more flavor and "depth." I thought it was a bit bland when made as directed. Update: Today I made this again but with a few additions which did the trick for us. Though this recipe is not designed to be a "taco" dip, it really does need something more. Therefore, like many other reviewers, I added a pkt of Taco Seasoning mix (no water) & 1 tsp of garlic bits to the ground meat as I browned it. I kept everything else the same (except omitted guacamole since we don't like it) and then baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. It was great served warm with Frito Scoops! I think the secret ingredient (besides the taco mix) is the blend of Cheddar and Jack cheeses. This dish makes a "pretty" presentation for the table. BTW, if you do add Taco seasoning, do not add salt. It will be too salty for most people. Thanks DPerez7 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States