Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Love, Love, Love...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
ok so i do it a little different. i use prepared couscous instead of rice, i use frozen peas instead of canned (without water), ground pork instead of sausage, cream of mushroom soup (that i water down) instead of tomato, and i add an extra layer of drained canned frech style green beans. and still very good!!!! one of the girls from work demands that i bring her some when i make it! and my mum who is very picky and has dietary restaints (hence the subsitutions) really loves this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I was raised on this hearty recipe, which my mother pulled out on especially chilly evenings. Your version is the closest to what I recall, and I use it often. Delicious and economical, too..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was so good . and everyone in the house finished there plates. Something that doesn't happen all the time at a house of picky eaters. The only thing that I would say is try it with corn in place of the carrots it is even better or my family says so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is very similar to the recipe I use, except I too use ground beef instead of sausage. Also I cook the instant rice b4 I add it to the mix and grated potatos and onions work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I had been searching for this recipe. It was one my step-mother used to make often when I was growing up and I always loved it. She always made it with tomato soup and breakfast sausages and that's the way I like it best. Thank you for taking me back to my childhood! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I tried posting this recipe a while ago. No wonder it never made it. It was already here! I do a couple things differently. I slice the potatoes and fresh carrots extremely thin as if making potato chips. Layer the potatoes on bottom of casserole dish, sprinkle with salt and pepper, layer with carrots, salt and pepper, sprinkle with raw long grain wild rice, 2/3 of a bag of frozen peas, topped with grounded beef browned with the onions and green pepper. I use a full can of tomato soup and 3/4 can of water or so. Cover and bake 1 hour 15 minutes. Uncover and bake 15 minutes longer. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and return to oven until melted. My family LOVES this recipe. The kids always request it for their birthday meal. It takes a little time to cut the veggies so thinly and the baking time is long, but it's a winner every time. Have tried it with cream of mushroom soup, but we prefer the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is VERY good!! I used chicken sausage. I think ground beef or turkey could be used also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was excited to find this recipe. It was one of my favorites growing up. I had to make some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but it all worked out. I used hamburger instead of sausage and green beans instead of peas. It was still very good. I would like to try cream of chicken soup next time. Great basic recipe that can have endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
A few months ago I made a similar recipe with cream of mushroom instead of condensed tomato and I wasn't impressed. Well, the condensed tomato (and rice) really make a difference. The recipe didn't mention whether or not to pre-cook the meat so I went ahead and pre-cooked it. Well, my meat was overly brown so I have a strong suspicion you are supposed to use raw meat. Which just makes it even easier. I really only had 5 ingredients: potatoes, canned lima beans, rice, tomato soup, and ground beef. I will definitely make this again. I can't wait to try it with frozen carrots and onion. I think I will keep the canned lima beans. How easy is it to plop all these ingredients into a dish and pop in the oven? All you need is time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States