Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I tried posting this recipe a while ago. No wonder it never made it. It was already here! I do a couple things differently. I slice the potatoes and fresh carrots extremely thin as if making potato chips. Layer the potatoes on bottom of casserole dish, sprinkle with salt and pepper, layer with carrots, salt and pepper, sprinkle with raw long grain wild rice, 2/3 of a bag of frozen peas, topped with grounded beef browned with the onions and green pepper. I use a full can of tomato soup and 3/4 can of water or so. Cover and bake 1 hour 15 minutes. Uncover and bake 15 minutes longer. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and return to oven until melted. My family LOVES this recipe. The kids always request it for their birthday meal. It takes a little time to cut the veggies so thinly and the baking time is long, but it's a winner every time. Have tried it with cream of mushroom soup, but we prefer the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is very similar to the "Seven Layer Dinner" recipe passed on to me by my mother. It's a great cold weather, filling meal. Our version uses browned ground beef instead of sausage. Also, I use frozen peas with water instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was so good . and everyone in the house finished there plates. Something that doesn't happen all the time at a house of picky eaters. The only thing that I would say is try it with corn in place of the carrots it is even better or my family says so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This was pretty good. I agree that it was better the next day because the flavors really had a chance to blend. I only used 1 can of peas and that seemed like plenty. I wonder how it would be to substitute green beans or something like that to make it less starchy. I also was toying with the idea of using Cream of mushroom soup and milk instead of the tomato soup and water. I just might try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe and helps me clean out the cupboards! I just used what we had on hand. Thinly sliced some red potatoes, cut baby carrots in half, instead of buttering the pan, I put some butter on top of the onions. I didn't drain the canned peas and it turned out fine, the rice was perfect. Browned ground turkey instead of the sausage. Also I used cream of mushroom, like someone else mentioned, next time I may put an extra can in. In short it was good! I liked it a lot. My husband said it was okay, but he tends to like things with a kick. May try it in the crock pot next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I had been searching for this recipe. It was one my step-mother used to make often when I was growing up and I always loved it. She always made it with tomato soup and breakfast sausages and that's the way I like it best. Thank you for taking me back to my childhood! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is very similar to the recipe I use, except I too use ground beef instead of sausage. Also I cook the instant rice b4 I add it to the mix and grated potatos and onions work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Really good. Can be cut in half easily, this feeds a lot! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Because my family are such picky eaters i switched this one up a bit. I omitted the rice and the peas completely. I layered potatoes, onions, carrots, mushrooms, salt & pepper and then repeated the layering again. I then put my sausages and used double the amount of tomato soup and water. The family loved it! I`ve made this several times since with smoked sausages, hotdogs, pork breakfast sausages.. all of them taste great with this recipe! Note though that if you do use simpler sausages such as breakfast or hotdog your potatoes should be fairly thin so as to cook through without burning your sausages. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maskys
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. I added the two photos. Made the first one earlier today; pretty much to recipe. Making another version that went in the oven the way the second photo appears. I lined the pan with ground burger and then topped it with the potatoes, onions, French onion soup mix, and a can of cream of mushroom soup mixed with a can of milk. Taking it out after an hour and removing the foil and putting it in for another 20 minutes or so, depending on how done it appears and then removing it and topping it with cheese and putting back in for another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maskys

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States