Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This was pretty good. I agree that it was better the next day because the flavors really had a chance to blend. I only used 1 can of peas and that seemed like plenty. I wonder how it would be to substitute green beans or something like that to make it less starchy. I also was toying with the idea of using Cream of mushroom soup and milk instead of the tomato soup and water. I just might try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is very similar to the "Seven Layer Dinner" recipe passed on to me by my mother. It's a great cold weather, filling meal. Our version uses browned ground beef instead of sausage. Also, I use frozen peas with water instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I was raised on this hearty recipe, which my mother pulled out on especially chilly evenings. Your version is the closest to what I recall, and I use it often. Delicious and economical, too..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Really good. Can be cut in half easily, this feeds a lot! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe and helps me clean out the cupboards! I just used what we had on hand. Thinly sliced some red potatoes, cut baby carrots in half, instead of buttering the pan, I put some butter on top of the onions. I didn't drain the canned peas and it turned out fine, the rice was perfect. Browned ground turkey instead of the sausage. Also I used cream of mushroom, like someone else mentioned, next time I may put an extra can in. In short it was good! I liked it a lot. My husband said it was okay, but he tends to like things with a kick. May try it in the crock pot next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Love, Love, Love...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was so good . and everyone in the house finished there plates. Something that doesn't happen all the time at a house of picky eaters. The only thing that I would say is try it with corn in place of the carrots it is even better or my family says so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is very similar to the recipe I use, except I too use ground beef instead of sausage. Also I cook the instant rice b4 I add it to the mix and grated potatos and onions work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I had been searching for this recipe. It was one my step-mother used to make often when I was growing up and I always loved it. She always made it with tomato soup and breakfast sausages and that's the way I like it best. Thank you for taking me back to my childhood! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
ok so i do it a little different. i use prepared couscous instead of rice, i use frozen peas instead of canned (without water), ground pork instead of sausage, cream of mushroom soup (that i water down) instead of tomato, and i add an extra layer of drained canned frech style green beans. and still very good!!!! one of the girls from work demands that i bring her some when i make it! and my mum who is very picky and has dietary restaints (hence the subsitutions) really loves this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States