Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
ok so i do it a little different. i use prepared couscous instead of rice, i use frozen peas instead of canned (without water), ground pork instead of sausage, cream of mushroom soup (that i water down) instead of tomato, and i add an extra layer of drained canned frech style green beans. and still very good!!!! one of the girls from work demands that i bring her some when i make it! and my mum who is very picky and has dietary restaints (hence the subsitutions) really loves this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I had been searching for this recipe. It was one my step-mother used to make often when I was growing up and I always loved it. She always made it with tomato soup and breakfast sausages and that's the way I like it best. Thank you for taking me back to my childhood! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is very similar to the recipe I use, except I too use ground beef instead of sausage. Also I cook the instant rice b4 I add it to the mix and grated potatos and onions work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was so good . and everyone in the house finished there plates. Something that doesn't happen all the time at a house of picky eaters. The only thing that I would say is try it with corn in place of the carrots it is even better or my family says so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Love, Love, Love...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe and helps me clean out the cupboards! I just used what we had on hand. Thinly sliced some red potatoes, cut baby carrots in half, instead of buttering the pan, I put some butter on top of the onions. I didn't drain the canned peas and it turned out fine, the rice was perfect. Browned ground turkey instead of the sausage. Also I used cream of mushroom, like someone else mentioned, next time I may put an extra can in. In short it was good! I liked it a lot. My husband said it was okay, but he tends to like things with a kick. May try it in the crock pot next time. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Really good. Can be cut in half easily, this feeds a lot! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I was raised on this hearty recipe, which my mother pulled out on especially chilly evenings. Your version is the closest to what I recall, and I use it often. Delicious and economical, too..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is very similar to the "Seven Layer Dinner" recipe passed on to me by my mother. It's a great cold weather, filling meal. Our version uses browned ground beef instead of sausage. Also, I use frozen peas with water instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This was pretty good. I agree that it was better the next day because the flavors really had a chance to blend. I only used 1 can of peas and that seemed like plenty. I wonder how it would be to substitute green beans or something like that to make it less starchy. I also was toying with the idea of using Cream of mushroom soup and milk instead of the tomato soup and water. I just might try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States