Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristafinn5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Hi I have not tried this recipe yet but know it will be great. I phoned my sister a couple of weeks ago to ask her for our mom's recipe for what we called 7 layer casserol. She couldn't find it and I was having trouble remembering. I did make what I thought was close and it wasn't as good as my mom used to make. This recipe is exactly the one she used to use and I am so happy to have found it again. We lost our mom in 1981 and miss her every day. The reason I am so excited about this is my mom's name was Ruth. So thank you Ruth for the recipe and the memory. Sincerely Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was just okay; definitely a hearty meal but I found it very bland, even after seasoning each layer and browning the meat with herbs and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband and I made this. We shredded the potatoes and used match stick carrots. It turned out great. It needed a little salt, but that is because we forgot to salt the potatoes (very important). It was very filling and everyone enjoyed it. We'll try throwing in some different vegetables next time. Corn would go well. Maybe broccoli cut up into small chunks so kids don't recognize it as broccoli. We also put cheese on top. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Because my family are such picky eaters i switched this one up a bit. I omitted the rice and the peas completely. I layered potatoes, onions, carrots, mushrooms, salt & pepper and then repeated the layering again. I then put my sausages and used double the amount of tomato soup and water. The family loved it! I`ve made this several times since with smoked sausages, hotdogs, pork breakfast sausages.. all of them taste great with this recipe! Note though that if you do use simpler sausages such as breakfast or hotdog your potatoes should be fairly thin so as to cook through without burning your sausages. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
A few months ago I made a similar recipe with cream of mushroom instead of condensed tomato and I wasn't impressed. Well, the condensed tomato (and rice) really make a difference. The recipe didn't mention whether or not to pre-cook the meat so I went ahead and pre-cooked it. Well, my meat was overly brown so I have a strong suspicion you are supposed to use raw meat. Which just makes it even easier. I really only had 5 ingredients: potatoes, canned lima beans, rice, tomato soup, and ground beef. I will definitely make this again. I can't wait to try it with frozen carrots and onion. I think I will keep the canned lima beans. How easy is it to plop all these ingredients into a dish and pop in the oven? All you need is time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was excited to find this recipe. It was one of my favorites growing up. I had to make some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but it all worked out. I used hamburger instead of sausage and green beans instead of peas. It was still very good. I would like to try cream of chicken soup next time. Great basic recipe that can have endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is VERY good!! I used chicken sausage. I think ground beef or turkey could be used also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Baylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I tried posting this recipe a while ago. No wonder it never made it. It was already here! I do a couple things differently. I slice the potatoes and fresh carrots extremely thin as if making potato chips. Layer the potatoes on bottom of casserole dish, sprinkle with salt and pepper, layer with carrots, salt and pepper, sprinkle with raw long grain wild rice, 2/3 of a bag of frozen peas, topped with grounded beef browned with the onions and green pepper. I use a full can of tomato soup and 3/4 can of water or so. Cover and bake 1 hour 15 minutes. Uncover and bake 15 minutes longer. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and return to oven until melted. My family LOVES this recipe. The kids always request it for their birthday meal. It takes a little time to cut the veggies so thinly and the baking time is long, but it's a winner every time. Have tried it with cream of mushroom soup, but we prefer the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very good. A good way to get in all your vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States