Seven Layer Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is my 'Grandma's Dish' recipe. I only know how to make it a little too big- but it's been a staple in my family forever. I make it in a roaster. Layer as per the recipe with sausage on top. I use instant rice and layer the Tomato soup in the mix so theres enough in all the layers. Also a can of water over the whole thing. Cooking time at 350 is a couple of hours or until potatoes and carrots are done- then 30 minutes uncovered to brown sausage. I always eat this with soy sauce! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Took way longer to cook. I increased the temp to 375 and it is probably going to take 60-75 min instead of 45 min. Also, I'd recommend cooking the rive beforehand as well as the pork to speed up cooking time. I also added zucchini which added a nice extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this several times and substitute different veg for the peas, depending on what i have on hand. I use a deeper casserole dish and find this works well. Perhaps the deeper dish prevents the food drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
So I rated it a 4 because this recipe is very close to my mother's Seven Layer Casserole. The best way (in my opinion) to make this - use 1 lb hamburger (brown first), a can of diced tomatoes and about 1 Tbs of water. No peas, No tomato soup, No cans of water. Layer the same order as noted in the recipe, although on top of my hamburger I add more potatoes and carrots, then salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle the water in over the top of it all. It's not a blow-your-socks-off meal, but it's easy, it's hearty, you probably have all the ingredients. Plus it hits the spot at the end of a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My family enjoys this every time I make it! The only thing I change is cooking the meat and rice beforehand. I usually use rice left over from another meal. I have used a varity of Veggies as my layers and usually it more then seven. I was a little unsure of the peas but it all works! I think the problems the other reviews were having are these....... They used hamburger and not pork sausage! And tomato sauce not Tomato Soup. Both of which can make a huge differance! I am making this again tonight and will be using hamburger because that is what I have. But I plan on adding some extra seasoning to make up for it. My kids love this! But they love Salad too! I guess my kids are just smart like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Not sure if I'll make this again. First it had to be cooked much longer than the directions state. Then my kids didn't seem thrilled with it. It seems to be missing something. It was easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I don't use instant rice so cooked the rice first for 10 min. and the whole baking time should be 1-1/2 hrs with carrots and potatoes sliced thinly. Very flavourable otherwise, a great harvest meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
A complete disaster. After an hour in the oven, the rice was still crunchy, the potatoes weren't entirely cooked, the sauce had baked away to nothing, and the sausage was getting burned. It never even made it to the table. Not recommended. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
In our household ...feeding 7 people..casserole's are the way to go. Everyone really enjoyed the dish ..except that we will cut down on the potatoes next time...very good otherwise and very easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Hmmmm... First, I had to stick it in the oven longer because the rice and potatoes weren't quite done (another 20 min) but it came out done and tasted pretty good. I also did not have carrots so substitued green and red bell peppers then the peas with corn (only thing in the cupboard). Despite that, it was rather tasty and will make it again someday. I actually give it another 1/2 star because it helped clean up food in the kitchen I couldn't think of whatelse to do with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States