Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These are great bars! I've tried several recipes for these bars and here's what I've learned (some after many failed attempts): 1. Don't buy graham cracker crumbs. Use regular graham crackers and crush them yourself. 2. If you have trouble with the butter not soaking through the cracker crumbs, combine them in a small bowl first and then pat them into the pan evenly. 3. The order of ingredients makes a difference in taste. This recipe puts the coconut on last which makes a great toasted coconut top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made this for a holiday party at work recently, and it was a huge hit! It is definitely for the sweets lover, but the combination of the butterscotch with the coconut and semi-sweet chocolate really gives them a great flavor. Be careful if you put the bars in the fridge to cool, they can become very hard a difficult to cut. I would advise cooking them the night before and sitting them out to cool instead. Also, don't go wild with the semi-sweet chips, they can overpower the good taste of the other ingredients. Finally, I used regular butter instead of unsalted, and they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This recipe was SO easy. I threw it together in 15 minutes before a Mom's Club luncheon. I got RAVE reviews on it. I made it again for our family Christmas celebration. My mom couldn't stop eating them (I couldn't either!). They were so good, I made them 3 times in 2 weeks for various functions. I have been asked by SEVERAL people for the recipe. KUDOS to the creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Divine! I use chocolate and peanut butter chips, and peanuts. Always a hit anywhere I take them, and, if you need a make and take for a gathering, this couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These turned our really good. The only change I made was to add the butter to the graham cracker crumbs and press into the bottom of the pan to form a crust instead of drizzling the butter over the dry crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Better than all other 7 Layer Bar recipes I've tried. Everyone loves it and I'll definitely make it again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious. Tasted seven layer bar for the first time this past holiday season at my in-laws and thought I'd try making them myself. This turned out different than the one I had tasted -- chewier and less gooey. I like this one better because of it. I needed and therefore added more coconut to cover the 9x13 dish. P.S. My husband said to rate this 4 stars because he prefers his sisters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I purchased this at Sams Club in a ready made box.It was so very good! I'm just glad I found the recipe here so I can make it any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Loved this recipe, but I used pecans instead of the walnuts, they were very, very good and they freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
These came out awesome! Everyone liked them, from little kids to adults. Cut them into small bars, they're very sweet. I followed advice from a previous review by mixing the melted butter with the crumbs and then patted them into the pan- it worked out nicely. HIGHLY recommend this recipe, I passed it along to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States