Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars but for the directions. Put the butter in your pan and put the pan in the oven while it's heating to melt. Pour the graham cracker crumbs into the pan, but mix the butter and crumbs together and pat down, or use a small roller. I use one 12 oz bag of chips, then the coconut, then the nuts. I pour the condensed milk over it all. My husbands favorite combination is butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. It's always a hit when I take them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebiMcG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
LOVE these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Kids love making these bars! They are just like the bars my grandmother used to make! Mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
very good. very sweet. of course you would already expect that with seven layer bars. i took the advise and mixed my cracker crumbs with the butter and pressed into a well greased glass pan, and put half the condensed milk on the crumb base, and the other half on the top before topping with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
LOVE these bars. I prefer my graham cracker crust to be crisp, so I mix the crumbs with the butter in a bowl, then press into the 9x13 (foil lined) I then pre-bake the crust at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Then I put all the toppings on and then return to oven at 350 degrees for the 25 minutes. I know that other versions of this recipe say to put the condensed milk directly on the crust. If you want a crisp crust, then dont do that, or it will turn out soggy. Definitely pour it on over the layers (before the coconut). I also used 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs to the 1/2 c. butter, I like a thicker crust and it turned out awesome. I lined the 9x13 with greased foil that draped over the edges of the pan, that way I could easily pull the bars out to cut and serve. This recipe is A+. SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Yum! I made without nuts. They were a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Yummm! I used low fat margarine, low fat graham crackers, chocolate chips, white chips, fat-free sweetened condensed milk and the walnuts and coconut. Absolutely perfect ratio of the chocolate to the graham to the coconut. I'm in love again with this old recipe that I used to make back in the 70's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very, very good, but rich! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I thought these were delightfully rich, with a nice crunch from the walnuts and the coconut. I made a batch long side my daughter and showed her step by step how to make this recipe. I had a blast when she finally was able to look at the recipe and know what each measurement was and was able to get it right all on her own. This was totally easy and a great recipe to help with kids who are beginning to get into helping in the kitchen. Simple steps with simple ingredients and a quick recipe that doesn't lose the focus on the child that is working with you. I recommend this recipe totally. And don't forget to grab a tall glass of milk to go with one of these gooey treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by booboomonkey1996
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I give the dessert a four because it was my first time makeing it,plus i think i can do better the next time i make the dessert.I thought it was pretty easy to make.It was a tasty treat for a dessert ever a snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booboomonkey1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States