Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Big hit in my homemade Christmas basket. After letting it set for a while, my crust was nice & firm. I baked ahead of time & put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Really great bars -- fast and easy. I would suggest popping these in the fridge for ~20 minutes after they cool to set the graham cracker bottom. Next time I make these I'll definitely add more nuts, too. Otherwise, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I agree with the statements that the order of layers helps with the flavor of these bars. I also agreed with the comment that the condensed milk should go on the graham layer... I did and they're amazing!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very tasty! I used cinnamon graham crums for the bottom layer, and they were super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made these for office. They where a huge hit. My husband is not a fan of butterscotch so I subsituted peanut butter chips instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Many reviewers mentioned that it was too rich or sweet. I solved that by using dark chocolate in place of semisweet. It perfected this fabulous recipe. I love this recipe. I used margarine as directed. Added graham cracker crumbs and mixed them with the margarine then patted it down. This was difficult because the pan was piping hot. Next time I will melt the butter in the microwave and then mix with crumbs and push evenly in bottom of 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
LOVE this recipe! My mother used to make these cookies every single holiday season. I agree that it's best to use regular graham crackers and crush them yourself. I also agree it's best to mix the graham crackers with the melted butter first, then add it to the bottom of the pan. I used a 13x9 pan and it was almost too little. Maybe next time I'll use 2 packages of graham crackers instead of 1 and 1/2. I love the condensed milk but a whole can is way too much. I think you can get away with 3/4 a can or even 1/2 a can, depending on sweet you like it. But no matter what you do, these cookies are RICH! You can't eat too many at once but they are addicting. They also go nicely over some vanilla ice cream if you crush them up. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
these are the cookies i grew up with. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are very easy to make and taste good. I think next time I make these (and I will because they were so easy) I will figure out some way to cut back on the sweetness. If only there were some semi-sweet butterscotch chips. I may try cutting back on the butterscotch chips and increasing the semi-sweet chocolate chips. That might just work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States