Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These are so rich and decadent. I just melted the butter in the microwave in a bowl and mixed in the graham cracker crumbs (which I crushed in a ziplock bag using a can of beans) then pressed it down on the bottom of the baking dish. Next time, I would try baking just the crust for about 5 minutes before adding the rest of the toppings, because the crust came out a little soggy and not as solid as I would like. I didn't have butterscotch chips so I used 1 1/2 cups choc chips. I also didn't have walnuts (although I'm sure it would have been wonderful with them) I had to use sliced almonds, and used about 3/4 cup. Mine were done in about 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good heavens! I can NOT believe how good these are. I mean, they are really, really, REALLY good! These are a must try! I halved this recipe only because I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk I needed to use up (which is what prompted the search that lead me to this heavenly recipe in the first place). I ended up adding pecans instead of walnuts because I accidentally grabbed them out of the freezer and was halfway through chopping them before I realized my mistake. Finally, I had some homemade marshmallows, and I figured one more layer wouldn't hurt, so I put them on top of the coconut. This baked in about 15 minutes, since I had halved it and baked in a smaller pan. I noticed that some reviewers had problems with these setting up. I have not given them a chance to set up yet, as I have eaten two bars since it came out of the oven 5 minutes ago. I will try sticking them in the fridge to see if they firm up, but honestly, I could care less if they do. So insanely yummy, warm and gooey from straight from the oven (and actually, they held up pretty well, so I am sure letting them cool will make them into perfect bars.) Thanks for sharing the recipe Mrs. Tindall. These are going in my goody baskets this holiday season, if they don't all go in my face first!!! ***UPDATE*** I did put these in the fridge, and they did set up into lovely bars, AND they are even better cold! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
New family favorite !!! Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Fantabulous! Followed the recipe exactly...Don't mess with perfection. This is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are great! I have made this recipe several times and get requests for these bars often. My friends say they even taste better than the local bakery's version. I do use salted butter instead of unsalted and that works fine. This is a definite go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Oh lord, these are to DIE for. DO NOT MAKE if you are on any kind of diet. I have some nut haters in my family, so we eliminated that layer, but this is still probably my favorite dessert ever. Easy, tasty, and awesome. Also, we line the pan with tin foil and spray it for easy removal and cutting of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is the standard recipe. I'm not a fan of butterscotch, walnuts OR coconut, so I used peanuts/slivered almonds, peanut butter chips, pretzels, mini-marshmallows and a combination of milk chocolate chips and mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I altered it a bit, based on the ingredients I had. I used Toppers Crackers (from Town House) and mixed the crackers and butter together then spread them on the pan. Then I took the chips and walnuts and combined them, then spread them on the cracker butter crust. Then I poured half the can of sweet condensed milk, then sprinkled the coconut and then poured the remaining sweet condensed milk. BRILLANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
lovely lovely. I added cornflakes to the crust and a sprinkling on top along with the coconut. Must credit my husband for the suggestion. ReaLLy great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made these last night and substituted milk chocolate chips for semisweet chips. I also used half sliced almonds and half walnuts for one cup of nuts total. And I added one cup of milk chocolate toffee bits. YUM! They are super rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States