Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very, very good, but rich! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I thought these were delightfully rich, with a nice crunch from the walnuts and the coconut. I made a batch long side my daughter and showed her step by step how to make this recipe. I had a blast when she finally was able to look at the recipe and know what each measurement was and was able to get it right all on her own. This was totally easy and a great recipe to help with kids who are beginning to get into helping in the kitchen. Simple steps with simple ingredients and a quick recipe that doesn't lose the focus on the child that is working with you. I recommend this recipe totally. And don't forget to grab a tall glass of milk to go with one of these gooey treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by booboomonkey1996
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I give the dessert a four because it was my first time makeing it,plus i think i can do better the next time i make the dessert.I thought it was pretty easy to make.It was a tasty treat for a dessert ever a snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booboomonkey1996

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I agree with the review about the problem with the crust technique. The butter definitely needs to be mixed into the graham crumbs. We've also substituted different cookies like nilla wafers as well as cereal crumbs. I also like to use almonds. The Eagle Brand recipe is no fail, they have tons of recipes on their website if you're interested in more bar recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I made this, following the recipie exactly. They were amazinggg :) They were gone in less than two days. I would use a smaller pan or more ingreidents, tho, to make it thicker. anyways, it was so delicous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are addicting. I've made them several times with the only change being that I use pecans instead of walnuts. They are great! I haven't really had a problem with them sticking but I always use my stoneware bar pan and it is well seasoned so that might make the difference. If I was using a metal/glass pan I would probably use parchment paper on the bottom. Give them a try, they're simple, fast and super tasty (just be sure to let them cool well). Thanks for sharing Patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I crushed my own graham crackers and premixed with the melted butter as other reviews suggested. For the layers, I changed it up a bit and everyone at work LOVED them. My layers were semisweet chocolate chips, mini marshmallows, toffee bits, pretzels peices, shredded coconut, and the condensed milk. I had nut allergic eaters, so left out the nuts. The toffee and pretzel pieces really did the trick for me I think. Definitely serve these chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Glorious! This is my first time making Coconut Seven Layer Bars after being inspired by the amazing Ben and Jerry's flavor. The ingredients were almost right, but I ended up having to use almost 3 times as much coconut. I read the reviews and suggestions and came to the conclusion there was a better way to make this. I mixed the melted butter in with the graham crackers and buttered the pan generously before packing the mixture into the bottom of the pan. I also just eyeballed how many chips and nuts I needed. I really think the mixing the coconut with the sweeten condensed milk was the key, though it made it difficult to spead over the loose chips and nuts. I ended up using two cans of sweetened condensed milk as well as far more coconut. Next time I think I will just use one and just mix more coconut in it. The 1 1/2 cups of coconut didn't cut it. They are coming out of the pan perfectly due to the butter and also, I seperate the edges from the pan as soon as it came out of the oven. Marvelous though! Everyone adores them and I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was really good! I followed some of the reviews and had no problems. I put the cracker crumbs in the butter first, sprayed the pan with Pam and then pressed into the pan. I also sprinkled some of the milk on top of the crust before starting the layers and then poured the remaining milk on top of the coconut. The bars came out perfectly, without mess, and were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States