Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is one of my family's all time favorites, with the exception of two small changes: I use 1 cup of pecan pieces rather than walnuts, and like many others, I pour the sweetened condensed milk over the first six layers. This is one recipe which is really difficult to ruin, and the bars are usually the first dessert to go at any gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My 7 year old grandson loved these but the adults thought they were way too sweet. Like the taste, especially of the butterscotch, but too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years and it's always a hit. I did tweak it slightly by cutting the butterscotch chips to 1/2 cup and adding 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips. I guess that makes mine 8 layers but I don't count the butter. It really makes it even better which is hard to believe! Tips: make sure you spread the graham crackers evenly or the bars will fall apart when removing them. I use my fingers to spread them. I also use slightly more graham crackers to create an even layer. After removing from the oven, run a small knife around the sides of the pan before the pan completely cools. It will make it a little easier to get the bars out. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlpicanso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have just one alteration. My grandma makes these bars for just about every special occasion. They are gone within seconds. I have had other peoples & hers are SO much better. When I asked what her secret is she told me to put the sweetened condensed milk in between every layer. It makes a HUGE difference. One of my favorite desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
delicious combo! kids and coworkers loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These are delicious and always a crowd pleaser! I no longer buy sweetened condensed milk, but rather, make my own, so that was the only ingredient change I made. Oh, and I used cinnamon grahams! However, I followed the directions off the Eagle Sweetened Condensed Milk website for this recipe which have you mix the butter & crumbs, then pour the sweetened condensed milk over, and sprinkle with your nuts, chips, & coconut. I had no issues with this layering technique and would do it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I've been eating/making these bars all of my life, they are a standard food in the upper midwest (I'm from Wisconsin). This is the standard recipe that my family has been making for probably 40 years. If it's easier you can also melt the butter in the microwave and mix the crumbs in and then spread them in the pan. It's faster but it creates extra dishes. They are also really great if you substitute the toppings. For example substitute peanut butter chips for the butterscotch to make chocolate peanut butter bars, or andes mint chips in the winter to make mint chocolate coconut bars. It's a very customizable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Van Grinsven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Used caramel bits instead of other flavored chips. So easy and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little French Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were great! They were a little crumbly though. I did make them on parchment paper as suggested and they came out of the pan just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe. The coconut was browned & crispy. To much for me, but my wife loved it. Great flavor. I used Pam to coat the cake pan & it came out of the pan fine. Cut it with a pizza cutter. I will use this recipe again with some modifications. I would mix some of the condensed milk with the coconut so it wouldn't be so dry. I cooked it at 325 for 25 minutes and that was a good time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States