Seven Ingredient Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this recipe today. Way too acidic. Added baking soda, wine and water. Still don't like it. Maybe one less can of puree substituted for diced tomatoes would have been better. Going to continue playing with it until its to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very average. Followed the recipe to the letter. There frankly wasn't much flavor to this. There is more flavor to some jar spaghetti sauce's in the supermarket. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
why use tomato paste? unless you're in a special hurry. it's bitter. not very tomatoey. a shortcut rarely necessary especially if you use good rip tomatoes [of course where do you get good ripe tomatoes. i haven't seen any in a supermarket except maybe dean and deluca for about half a century.] or in lieu of fresh there are fully ripened fully flavorful tomatoes in cans. all you need to do is simmer a bit longer. if you'r really in that great of a hurry, throw ketchup on your spaghetti. or buy a packet of cheap sauce mix add boiling water. tomato paste only functions to make everything taste like tomato paste, not tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isafakir

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
If the ingredients have to come from a tin, why not just buy a tin ready made. I personally would prefer to make my sauce ( and do) with fresh tomatoes straight from the vine and garlic and herbs from my own garden. But then I don't live in a concrete jungle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I use tomatoe sauce instead of crushed my family prefers a smooth sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
need meat,beef,pork,chicken,and lamb, fry up and add to the pot,pour sauce on top mix well ,cook on low heat for two hrs.one hr in add garlic one clove per 32 oz's,and basil one table spoon for every 32 oz's of sauce,and red wine half a cup. let the person add salt to this own dish if they want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
What is the difference between crushed tomatoes and tomato puree?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is almost exactly my family recipe for red sauce. A few changes; we add 1 chopped onion, sauteed with garlic. No sugar, we use a carrot; peeled and cut into big pieces that can be removed later to sweeten sauce. Also, 1/2 peeled potatoe (to be removed later) to cut down on acid & salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Salt and pepper are not considered an "ingredient".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It is what it says it is!!!! Yummy!!!!!! Quick, easy, tasty! Perfect when your in a hurry and want full flavor!! I use home canned tomatoes so I would recommend a good brand of tomatoes....makes all the difference! Also I omit the sugar as home canned don't seem to need it, but I love love love this simple recipe! Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States