Seven Grain Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This recipe made way too much dough to bake in my 2 lb bread machine. I used the dough to make 18 good size rolls, and placed them fairly close together on a cookie sheet to rise so they would be "soft sided". They turned out great! The cereal lends a nice crunch to the finished product, but the bread is still nice and light. This seems to be a very versatile recipe and next time I may actually make it into an loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is an excellent bread which combines high fiber with a medium-weight bread. I found this bread perfect for sandwiches (not too heavy)! I put it in a large ziploc bag steaming hot to soften the crust. As for the recipe, I think it might have too much yeast. I used the 1.5 lb and whole wheat settings, and the bread rose too high - I had to "deflate" it a little with a toothpick in the middle of the second rise and immediately bake. 1 tbsp of yeast is equal to 3 tsp which just seems like too much for even a 2 lb loaf, let alone this recipe. Next time I plan to cut the yeast down to 2 tsp. I think I'll also soak the grains next time, as I'm not as fond of having a crunch in my bread - but this is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Very good. I used brown sugar instead of honey. And I used a whole grain cold cereal with dates, raisins, etc. in it. Turned out yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I made the mistake of adding the cereal to the water, and the cereal absorbed the water making the dough sort of dry. I then added 1T of water and it was too wet, so had to add a little bit more flour. Because of this or maybe not, it was too big for my machine. It was worth it though, the best bread machine bread I've ever had! Next time I'll put the cereal on top of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
The first recipe I've used with my bread machine that didn't come with it and I'm in love. I was hesitant about putting honey instead of sugar because in my exeperience it really changes the taste and don't like it, but I figured I'd give it a go one more time...you can't taste the honey at all. It's soft and light in the middle, the crust isn't too dark or hard. I used 12 grain cereal mix (the kind you cook), turned out great. Will make again and again, it's better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I don't buy a lot of cereal and was a bit confused when I discovered that 7-grain cereal comes in both hot and cold varieties. Judging by the flour:liquid ration I took a chance on hot cereal. Bingo! I've used this a number of times as is, but I've also made cinnamon/raisin rolls out of it and they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I Loved this recipe!! I have tried several bread machine recipes and this was the best so far! The loaf was big, not too hard and the texture was perfect! I used 12 grain cereal instead of 7 and it turned out great. I will use this again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Nice and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I added a tablespoon of gluten; the loaf was tall and not heavy. Next time I make this, I wlll try less salt: it tasted a bit too salty for me. The bread sliced nicely. I liked it toasted (athough I had to toast the slice, turn it upside down and re-toast it, because it was so tall): the millet in the grain mix I used annoyed me, but disappeared into the crunch of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I love this bread. It's very tasty. I use Kashi 7 grain cereal (the granola type). I make it every week and if I forget my boyfriend reminds me. It always turns out perfect. Thank you Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States