Seven Grain Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
My family really enjoyed this bread. It is good warm, cool, and toasted. I used olive oil as one reviewer suggested. The bread did sink in in the middle as it baked, but not enough to bother me. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I'd give it a 10. I used 3/4 cup oats instead of 7-grain cereal and 1 tbsp of salt instead of 2 tsps because I misread the recipe. I set my Breadman machine on "whole wheat rapid", "medium crust" and "1.5 lb" loaf. It came out PERFECTLY. Perfect sandwich bread. Next time I'll experiment throwing some fruit and seeds into it too. I didn't have the "denting" problem some other commentators had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This will definitely be a regular on our table. I made the dough in my bread maker then made 18 dinner rolls from the dough. After letting them rise in a muffin pan, they baked perfectly at 350 for 25 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Wonderful bread. I used Kashi 7 grain and brown sugar splenda as a substitute for the honey, and all whole wheat flour, no bread flour. Baked at 375* for 30 min. covered with foil an additional 10 min, for a total of 40 min. I also buttered the crust after baking to keep it soft...wonderful recipe...thank you for a healthy bread I am happy to give my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie De
Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Yummo! SO good! I too have a 1 1/2 lb machine so I did a little math and figured out the correct amt of ingredients for this recipe. A lot of stuff is in mL, sorry, I also put the egg in the cup before measuring out my water (if I don't do this the bread over rises). 235mL water (including egg); 2 tsp yeast; 2 tbsp dry milk (94mL wet); 4 tsp oil; 4 tsp honey; 1 1/4 tsp salt; 2 1/2 cups flour (I use all whole wheat); 1/2 cup cereal. Makes 1 very delicious 1 1/2 pound loaf. Oh if putting in the bread maker overnight reduce the amount of yeast or it will overrise significantly lol, I found out the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is the best bread recipe I've tried. I used my bread machine to make the dough and then baked in it in my oven at 375 for 40 minutes. I replaced the honey with molasses and substituted 1 extra cup of whole wheat flour for the bread flour. I also used nine-grain cereal. Turned out absolutely perfect and was a huge hit in the household! I did cut off the crust because it was too hard. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
My first attempt at this recipe left me with a sunken top bread so I tried again and used less water--about 1 C and 2 Tbs. I had to add just a little flour so next time I'll try 1 C. 1 Tbs, but the flavor was excellent and made the house smell wonderful. I used the Kashi 7 grain medley pilaf (the whole grain). Excellent crunchy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I love this recipe! What's more, so did my family! I generally make 100 % whole wheat bread but I didn't have enough flour for my recipe. So, I made this recipe and it was AWESOME! The texture of it was a great medium weight bread. I have a 2lb. machine and it rose just fine. I made a few adjustments. I love to use olive oil instead of veggie oil. I added about 1 1/2 - 2 T more honey than it called for. I also used 1 c. of whole wheat pastry flour and only 1 1/2 c. of bread flour. I chose Bob's Red Mill 10 grain cereal blend and it came out fabulous. I don't know about the other reviews and the complications they experienced. I had no trouble! Thanks for the yummy recipe! Will make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
The texture of this was great, but it really doesn't have alot of flavour. I don't have a bread machine, so I just made it by hand, and formed it into 2 loafs. It's ok if there is butter, or jam on it, but in all honesty, I am a little dissapointed with it. I had expected more. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I've been looking for a 7 grain bread recipe. I'm not sure about this one. I made this recipe exactly as written and the top "sunk" in and the texture was spongy. Too much water or too much yeast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States