Seven Grain Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect! A very attractive aroma and crumb. My only criticism is that it is too large for my large bread machine. I plan to proportion all ingredients down by about 1/8th. Also, I add 1 t gluten to the existing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful flavourful and light bread. I did make a few changes: I substituted Molasses for the honey, as well as 12 grain flour for the whole wheat, as well as a 12 grain cereal. I also used 2 TBSP of yeast rather than one. I did find I had to increase the amount of flour slightly, but that could be because I am beside the ocean. I don't have a bread machine so mixed in the tried and true method that I always use when making bread. I bloom the yeast in 1/2 cup warm water with the molasses, then add in a large bowl the water , egg, salt, oil and the yeast mixture, gradually adding the flour until the dough is no longer sticky but still soft. I then place in a lightly oiled bowl, oiling the top of the dough as well, cover with plastic wrap and place in my oven to rise ( I have a proof setting on my oven), until double in size, punch down, form into loaves, allow to rise again, then brush with egg wash and bake. I also add a shallow pan of water to my oven, it keeps the bread moist while baking. I think next time I may add sunflower seeds as well love that. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I just made this bread this weekend, with the addition of 1/4 cup oat bran and wheat bran combined, and 1/4 cup unsalted sunflower seeds. This is a wonderfully nutty light bread. I am planning on making this one on a regular basis. Very easy. I used my bread machine to make the dough. Rolled it out and rolled it up and placed in loaf pan to bake in my oven. Cheaper than grocery store gourmet breads and I know what's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good bread. I was very excited to find this recipe, and put everything in the bread machine and then figured out I don't have seven grain cereal. Grr. My fault, though, so I ended up using rice puffs. I will buy 7 grain cereal and try this one again with the correct ingredients. It was a bit wet--had to add about 1/4 c of flour to the dough, but that can be explained by the humidity here. It's always important to check, even in a bread machine, because of that. I used the dough cycle, then let it rise for about 20 min in a warm oven and baked at 375 for 50 minutes. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE 8/5/10: Tried this with seven grain cereal, and it is just as good! Love the whole grain of this bread. I'll make again, definitely. :o) UPDATE 9/23/13: Still love this, but I've found I like it even better as a smaller loaf--still using the dough setting. Just made four large rolls (350 for about 20 mins) and a small loaf (350 for about 30 mins) out of one recipe and it is perfect! Even hubs doesn't complain about the whole grain part in this bread. Thanks again for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Turned out great! Followed recipe exactly. Made a light and fluffy loaf with a just right crispy crust. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The bread came out great! I replaced the water and dry milk powder with 1-1/3 cup regular milk. (You only need to use dry milk in bread makers if you use the timer function and the ingredients will be sitting out for a while before the bread maker starts.) All ingredients should be room temperature. I used the Whole Wheat Bread cycle as directed, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
best 7 grain bread I ever made-mine always turned out like paper weights. Light & fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Puffiest whole grain bread ever. Used bread machine, dough cycle, subbed 1/2 cup more white wwflour for bread flour, added 1 Tbs gluten. I boiled the water first and cooled it to lukewarm with 7-grain cereal but used recipe as is. I thought it was not enough for 2 bread pans which I may do next time before I increase quantities for 2 loaves. It's in the oven now but sure it will be great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
So yummy! I doubled it to make two big loaves (could make 3 average loaves with a doubled recipe). I don't have a bread machine so I used my kitchenaid mixer, let it rise in the bowl, put it in two big pans to rise again and baked it at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is our staple bread machine recipe now. My whole family loves it. It always rises and bakes perfectly in my breadmaker. It has a very nice texture - not too heavy and not too light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States