Sesame Tuna with Soy Miso Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
5 stars all the way! I loved this dish; the flavor on the tuna was amazing! I made this pretty much "as is" except since I didn't have any powdered wasabi I smothered the tuna steaks in wasabi paste for a bit before Step 2. It still came out with a nice wasabi taste! I also made the sauce, however I made a second sauce that consisted of the wasabi paste, greek yogurt, and fresh ground horseradish which complimented everything perfect. 10/10 will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Way too salty! I eliminated most of the salt and it was still too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I only made the miso sauce and flash seared the tuna in olive oil (leaving the middle raw). As a few have pointed out the miso topping is too salty with just soy sauce and not the correct consistancy with one tablespoon of liquid. Yes, will have to add water until the consistancy is gravy-like. I added pineapple teriyaki and sweetened lemon jucie to the topping. I think Ponzu (instead of soy sauce) + teriyaki could get a similar effect. The miso adds a nice flavor, but recipe needs to be fixed to add water to topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was excellent, even using frozen tuna steaks. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolutely delicious -- I did feel that the recipe had way too much powder mixture to coat the fish and half the amount would have done the trick. But a keeper recipe, at any rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
can cut whole coating recipe in half for 2 or even 4 pieces of fish also bring the flour ratio down even more. The tuna was good mildly seasoned. The sauce was horrible! I dumped it out and mixed 1 T. mayo with 1/4 cup gyoza sauce and 1 t. mirin. Hot oil served on the side. Hubby loved it with the hot oil and kids liked it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dinuba, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This is awesome. I've made it twice already. I followed the recipe exacty, then served it over noodles, stir fried with carrots & snow peas. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This recipe calls for way too much flour (and that's after I cut back to 3/4 cup), leaving the coating far less 'sesame' than I had hoped it would be. Trying to add more sesame seeds after dredging it in the flour mixture was impossible because they wouldn't stick to the fish. The glaze was really salty - my boyfriend loved it, but I thought it was pretty average. Tip: Make sure you use a firm tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
A favorite of my mine and my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States