Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Thirty minutes is way too long for this fish--it came out crispy which is not what I was expecting for baked fish, and I only left it in for about 20-25 minutes! Plus, the marinade really didn't sink into the fish all that well, so the flavor was lackluster--bland, in spite of my adding some powdered ginger towards the end along with roasted sesame seeds. I might play again with this recipe but it won't be anytime soon. My husband suggested that next time I could add a little white wine for moisture, but he also thought thirty minutes would still be way too long for such a light fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe precisely. A word of caution, I didn't have enough tilapia, so I decided to use some salmon as well. But the salmon didn't go well with this recipe. Stick with Tilapia. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
this was great. the family really loved this one. very quick and easy. will keep this as a regular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Thorpe
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this recipe. I think I might sprinkle some sesame seeds on top next time. For a nice presentation use black and white sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This dish is perfect as-is, & fortunately I was able to marinate the tilapia for several hours. Served with a side of steamed asparagus and, as a bed, a slightly simplified version of Red Chard and Caramelized Onions [from this site], the plates looked gorgeous & my family raved about the combination. Thanks so very much, Demi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
so easy and fast to make. my 2 year old even loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I slightly modified the recipe by using Mongolian fire oil. I did a marinade in that and then dipped the 2 filet's in seasoned bread crumbs. Baked them for 30 mins in a small dish with a touch of olive oil. Served alongside sweet corn and some seasoned veggies. The fish was tender and moist. Great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I would give this recipe between a 2 and a 3. There is nothing specifically wrong with the recipe it's just very bland and I prefer more flavor in my cooking. I followed suggestion to marinate longer and marinated for 24 hrs. It still came out quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great i was a little nervous about it and i followed the recipe except for adding a little green onion and i marinated it for about 6 hours. When it was cooking my boyfriend said he didn't think it would be good but he went back for seconds and that is what makes this a keeper as well as a 5 star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Followed the directions pretty much to the letter - turned out delicious! Nice alternative to the typical lemon, lime, or wine-based recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States