Sesame Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Not that great.I added an egg and the dough was still crumbly. Also, even with the jam the cookies were not very sweet. Finally, I did not like the texture from the sesame seeds, they do not belong in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made this and it was easy and good. I used cherry preserves and lemon curd and they were delicious. My jewelry making club enjoyed them immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Dry and crumbly. And I was looking forward to these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Incredible. I added some fresh ground almond butter (about 1/4 cup), a couple tbsp of brown sugar and about 3 tbsp of flour to keep consistency...Wow. I will make these when I care about impressing my audience for sure; they are both tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
this is an easy 1-bowl & eggless cookie recipe. these are definitely crumbly (eat-over-the-sink) style cookies but they are very delicious. if you like a strong almond taste then you might want to add a tiny bit more of extract. i halved the recipe so i expected to yield 1.5 dozen cookies but ended up with only 10 cookies!!! 1 stick of butter for 10 cookies is scary... after 12 minutes in the oven, they still looked a bit pale like the pictures but i took them out anyway. may leave them in for a bit longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These cookies rock! I will be defentily making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferggarrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've made many a thumb print cookie and thought these looked really yummy with the addition of the sesame seeds. However, while mixing I found that the dough appeared to be very dry and crumbly which made me a little nervous. I had tripled the recipe so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it, but to be on the safe side, I added in two eggs which added enough moisture to work with the dough. Two tablespoons of sesame seeds wasn't nearly enough for even a single batch, so I increased that by quite a bit. The end result was a beautiful little festive looking cookie that just melted in your mouth. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These are great and so easy to make! I use a little less salt and try to pack as much preserve in the middle as I can (love the fruit flavor!) They're shortbread-type cookies so they're not supposed to be moist per se, but they break apart smoothly and melt in your mouth. My Nana has been making them for Christmas for years. Shame on you, "mmmdessert" for reviewing a recipe without ever making it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very Good! The only thing I do differently is use 1/2 cup of sugar and double the almond extract (I find that I lose some of the almond flavor during baking). Oh, and I always need more than 2 tbsp. of sesame seeds for rolling the dough balls in. I make these every year for Christmas and everyone absolutely LOVES them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My mother made these cookies every Christmas and I love them! The only difference is that we add the Jelly right after your remove them from the oven. As for people who said they are too crumbly, let them sit for a minute or 2 on the cookie sheet before removing them, they will get firmer as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States