Sesame Seed Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I didn't use nearly as much oil as the recipe called for and I used a mixture of part sesame and vegetable. I used just a sprinkling of sesame seeds rather than what the recipe stated. Just a couple of changes and this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I added a little sesame oil to finish along with a few tablespoons of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The recipe was delicious and very simple to make. We did everything as suggested and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Made this recipe with fresh green beans. It was good- felt it was missing something though. Perhaps a bit of garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Needs less oil, soy sauce and especially sesame seeds or more green beens and it will be great. Good flavor. Try mixing part sesame oil and part vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAP
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I had had something similar to this several years ago and have wanted to try it. The toasted sesame seeds at the end really are needed (not necessarily that much, but 2-3 tbsp). I also added sesame oil per some of the other suggestions, but it didn't have the sesame taste I wanted until I added the toasted seeds. Agree with previous comments, the soy causes the beans to brown a bit. I served it with Chinese Pork Chops and they paired nicely. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were very tasty and SO easy. I just eyeballed all the proportions - used a little oil (1/2 vegetable and 1/2 sesame), a liberal amount of soy sauce, cooked as directed, and then sprinkled liberally with sesame seeds. They were very popular and I will make them again with asian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Good idea, but the additions to the beans are all overkill in proportion. I used half of the sesame seeds and my beans were swimming in them. Same with the soy sauce and the amount of oil was totally unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These didn't look very good and they didn't taste very good either. The one posted picture of this recipe is extremely misleading - with all that soy sauce in this recipe, trust me, those green beans do not look like THIS recipe - unless the submitter forgot the soy sauce or chose not to use it. These beans are an unattractive shade of greeny-brown. And they basically taste like... green beans and soy sauce. One of the rare occasions Hubs and I not only agreed on a review of a recipe, but we did so immediately, without hesitation. The other issue is that there is no way you'd want to use the overload of sesame seeds called for. I used fresh green beans which theoretically should have made these even better, but unfortunately this was a real miss for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States