Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This was a great recipe, with some recommendations. I added a little more honey, less sesame oil(would use a tablespoon or less), definitely used mirin, soy sauce(low sodium - it's what I have) and rice wine vinegar. Some wasabi paste added to the marinade and dipping sauce is a must for some zip. I cut the steaks so that they are about 1/2 to 3/4" thick and sear for about 40 seconds. If they are thicker they burn before they even cook a little - I like them pink, not red in the middle. Preheat cast iron, but be sure to turn down the head to medium high or you will have smoke and smoke alarms going off. Sesame Seeds - don't bother - I've tried it both ways, they don't add much, and they pop all over the place when you sear the steaks and make a mess. ( I lightly toasted them first - so if you have to have them - toast them, then dip the seared steaks just before you serve, and save yourself a lot of clean up. I served with plain rice or long grain and wild rice. Great to sop up the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Awesome. I thawed frozen Ahi from Costco. This tastes almost like steak! Don't have iron skillet - used non-stick. Didn't have mirin - used sweet vermouth. Still perfect. This recipe rocks because my house doesn't stink like fish as long as I use the pan's lid while cooking! I split more like 30/70 for the sauce, because we like extra to put on our rice (and there is still plenty to dredge the fish in). I "dry" the fish with paper towels after thawing so it will absorb more of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I took the very thick tuna steaks pretty much directly from the fridge to the skillet and they were (obviously) still cold in the middle during consumption. Next time, I'll let the tuna come closer to room temperature before searing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make seared tuna at least 2x a week. This is a good recipe. If you want to cut out some steps with the same great results instead of making the sauce Kikkoman puts out a "Roasted Garlic" Teriyaki sauce that is excellent with this fish.I serve the tuna on a platter with a small bowl of sauce, seaweed salad(found at your grocery store sushi bar)pickled ginger and wasabi paste.If your seeds are scorching add them to the tuna after searing just make sure that you toast them first. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
i loved the tuna. sooo good. my bf asked if we can eat this every week! a few suggestions that i have: adding a bit of grated ginger along with juice to the searing marinade really spices up the recipe. instead of coating the tuna with sesame seeds then searing them, i bought toasted sesame seeds and then sprinkled the sesame after my tuna was cooked. make sure the tuna is seared on medium heat b/c high heat burns the tuna and causes lots of smoke. chop up some scallions and sprinkling them over the tuna along with the sesame makes the whole plate look more attractive (i.e red and green contrast)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
simple and delicious. Ran into a friend who is a chef when I was buying the wine the recipe called for and he said to forget it, it won't matter. He was right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This recipe is unbelievably easy and fantastic. I used brown sugar because I didn't have honey (allergic) and I doubled the dipping sauce. Half the sauce I used to marinate the tuna steaks for about 2 hours, and the rest for dipping. I have never had a recipe disappear so fast. Definitely my new favorite fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Delicious. I have been waiting to try this recipe for a while now. I only make fresh tuna for occasions and it was sensational. The sesame seeds were a great crunchy contrast to the tuna steaks. Seared them for only 30 seconds on each side. Hubby loved this...and I did too. (So did my 1 1/2 year old son who doesn't like fresh tuna). Will be used again and again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
ABSOLUTELY OUTRAGEOUS!!!! My kids love tuna steaks and we always eat them rare, (this is a must or you might as well toss them) however, this is the first time we've made them this rare and I must tell you that I'll never eat another tuna steak any other way. After searing, hubby sliced the steaks paper thin and although the kids were a little apprehensive at first, one taste changed their minds completely. A pound and a quarter was devoured by the four of us in no time. Thanks for a superb recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe like this one!! The flavor and texture of the tuna was awesome. I did not have the mirin wine. Used a little white wine and still was great! Sesame seeds to scorch easily. I was dancing around when we were eating it as an appetizer. Also made some wasabi vinegrette and served it with the soy sauce as well!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States