Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
AMAZING! I made it exactly as the recipe said...well almost. I didnt use the olive oil. I used cooking spray and an electric grill. Came out amazing. This is a keeper! I paired it with Asian Coleslaw and grilled asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a fairly standard recipe and suitable fr all Tuna lovers. There are different variety of Tuna and for this I used Yellowfin (ahi) for a less fatty presentation. I have been encouraging my students to experiment with salts and sugars and so for this I substituted Melon Tawny sugar for honey and to maintain the nuttiness from the sesame seed I substituted Peanut Oil for Olive Oil and watched my husband raise his eyes, for I am an advocate of Olive Oil and I import it directly from an Olive grower in Italy every year when I get the first Cold Pressed (suitable for drinking too). But for high flash cooking I use either Peanut or Grapeseed oils and occasionaly Canola, when I have been assured that it is not genetically modified. When purchasing Tuna do try to have a good Fishmonger cut it choice and examine the grain. I do not encourage guests to "dip" at my dinner table so try using the sauce to accompany or dress a salad when setting a formal course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was a fast, easy and delicious recipe. The sauce with the sesame seeds was really tasty. Your dinner guests will think you spent much more time preparing this gourmet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Hubby adored this...but I had to put mine back into the skillet to cook through. I've got a very adventurous palate and I know everyone else loves this dish...but I couldn't handle the rare part. Everything else was fabulous after I cooked mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I prepared the recipe exactly as directed w/ the exception of adding the mirin. The tuna was excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. The dipping sauce was phenomenal. This was the first time I made seared tuna and now...it'll be on our dinner list each week. The only problem I had was the smoke from the oil but I think that was my fault not the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very good and EASY to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This tuna tasted 5 stars, but the searing made it smoke a lot and scorched the sesame seeds so I gave it 4. I would advise adding sesame seeds after cooking. I didn't have mirin so I skipped it, and I also used apple cider vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wonderful! The only change was I left out the mirin because I didn't have any. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
So, so good! I didn't use the sauce for dipping, however. I served this over an asian-style slaw which was a great pairing. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States