Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This has now become are favorite. We will have this for friends. Also, it was so easy, easy, easy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I'm rating this on what my dinner guest thought and not me. I didn't particularly enjoy the recipe, but he thought it was excellent and ate my portion, so I guess it was a hit for a serious tuna lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Wonderfully delicious! I actually combine black sesame seeds with regular sesame seeds and it creates a beautiful presentation. Based on other reviewers, I coat the fish with seeds after I remove it from pan. SAUCE is AWESOME! Sesame oil - love it! It really adds a great taste to the sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great Recipe! My husband and I LOVE seafood, and this was SO much easier on out wallet! not to mention quick! I did have to alter it a bit though... I used chili oil instead of the sesame oil, same thing but spicy. Masala wine b/c I figured any sweet wine will have to suffice. Teriyaki sauce from trader joe's instead of the honey, because it just felt right (and I didn't have honey). I added garlic to the mixture that coated the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this is was excellent!!! i have never made tuna steaks before, and it couldn't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Perfect and easy recipe! I cook it longer per side just for a matter of personal taste. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love To Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
AMAZING! I made it exactly as the recipe said...well almost. I didnt use the olive oil. I used cooking spray and an electric grill. Came out amazing. This is a keeper! I paired it with Asian Coleslaw and grilled asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a fairly standard recipe and suitable fr all Tuna lovers. There are different variety of Tuna and for this I used Yellowfin (ahi) for a less fatty presentation. I have been encouraging my students to experiment with salts and sugars and so for this I substituted Melon Tawny sugar for honey and to maintain the nuttiness from the sesame seed I substituted Peanut Oil for Olive Oil and watched my husband raise his eyes, for I am an advocate of Olive Oil and I import it directly from an Olive grower in Italy every year when I get the first Cold Pressed (suitable for drinking too). But for high flash cooking I use either Peanut or Grapeseed oils and occasionaly Canola, when I have been assured that it is not genetically modified. When purchasing Tuna do try to have a good Fishmonger cut it choice and examine the grain. I do not encourage guests to "dip" at my dinner table so try using the sauce to accompany or dress a salad when setting a formal course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was a fast, easy and delicious recipe. The sauce with the sesame seeds was really tasty. Your dinner guests will think you spent much more time preparing this gourmet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Hubby adored this...but I had to put mine back into the skillet to cook through. I've got a very adventurous palate and I know everyone else loves this dish...but I couldn't handle the rare part. Everything else was fabulous after I cooked mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States