Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Good, but I felt like it was missing something. Maybe it needed to marinade some, but I couldn't taste the sauce on the tuna at all. Also, my cuts were pretty thick, at 30 seconds on each side the middle would have still been cold. I like rare tuna, but it needs to be warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Absolutely lovely. Will do again. Didn't have any Mirin but used a dry white wine instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Definitely 30 seconds or less for each side is more than enough time to sear the steak. The grated ginger adds a kick to the taste. No wasabi was available so that was left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
A good dish. However, I wanted to warn against using olive oil for searing. There's a good bit of debate over whether olive oil is suitable for frying. Virgin olive oil on its own is a very healthy fat, but when heated past its smoking point - the temperature at which fats begin to break down, unique to each variety of fat - it can potentially do you more harm than good. Estimates can vary, but I've usually seen olive oil's smoking point cited between about 375-450 degrees fahrenheit, depending on the type. Searing can involve temperatures twice that high. So that's something to consider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful flavors and extremely e-z to make, this will make it into the recipe rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I followed others advice and decreased the oil and increased the honey. I actually let the tuna sit in all the marinade for a few hours (don't know if it really did anything). Before cooking I made a half batch of marinade for dipping and drizzling. I let the tuna sit for a bit to come up to temperature before cooking and then seared. I didn't time it, I just watched it like a hawk. I didn't turn my pan up all the way (read about burning the seeds) so it took a little longer...but it was Y U M M Y!!! I served it in thin slices over jasmine rice and then drizzled the sauce over the top. Will make again! No need to go out anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made this using gluten free soy sauce, wine white, agave nectar instead of honey and added a teaspoon of garlic paste. It was awesome - my husband the fisherman thought it was heavenly! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wow... delicious! I made changes because I didn't have all the ingredients, but my biggest change was that I COOKED THE TUNA THROUGH. My husband likes his fish fully-cooked, so having red meat in the middle wasn't an option. First, I didn't have any mirin, or rice vinegar, so I followed the recipe with just the soy, honey and sesame oil. I kept 1/2 for the sauce and it was tasty. I let the fish sit in the sauce for 15 min. or so, and then seared it on both sides for a few minutes. Then I covered the pan to let it cook through. I took out the fish and added the sesame seeds to the pan, to toast them. Once they were toasted, I pressed them onto the tuna. I drizzled the reserved sauce over it and served it with white rice and tomatoes in Olive oil and balsamic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira de Corozo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is so easy to make. I served the tuna with sauted spinach which made a great combination. It was delicious and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great recipe, just tried it, was looking for it for a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States