Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We have made it at least 3 times and absolutely love it as is. We have to be careful to get the tuna seared correctly, but getting better each ti me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very simple and easy to make. Flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott K
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I felt like I was eating at a seafood restaurant when I ate this tuna! Very good. I accidentally added the wasabi before reducing the sauce. It didn't seem to matter. I served over a bed of Japanese pickled veggies from the garden and a grilled rice cake on the side. I'll be making this as much as my mercury levels will allow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I added a little sauteed garlic and about 1/4 cup white wine. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This turned out perfectly. A note on the amount of the sauce - I only made 2 tuna steaks and the amount of the sauce was perfect so I would double it for 4 steaks. Also, did not need 1/2 cup sesame seeds - I used about a tablespoon per steak (half on each side). Thanks for sharing, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Good, but I felt like it was missing something. Maybe it needed to marinade some, but I couldn't taste the sauce on the tuna at all. Also, my cuts were pretty thick, at 30 seconds on each side the middle would have still been cold. I like rare tuna, but it needs to be warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Absolutely lovely. Will do again. Didn't have any Mirin but used a dry white wine instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Definitely 30 seconds or less for each side is more than enough time to sear the steak. The grated ginger adds a kick to the taste. No wasabi was available so that was left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
A good dish. However, I wanted to warn against using olive oil for searing. There's a good bit of debate over whether olive oil is suitable for frying. Virgin olive oil on its own is a very healthy fat, but when heated past its smoking point - the temperature at which fats begin to break down, unique to each variety of fat - it can potentially do you more harm than good. Estimates can vary, but I've usually seen olive oil's smoking point cited between about 375-450 degrees fahrenheit, depending on the type. Searing can involve temperatures twice that high. So that's something to consider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful flavors and extremely e-z to make, this will make it into the recipe rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States