Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was wonderful. Took the advice of toasting the sesame seeds on the stove top and sprinkling them on the cooked Tuna. This worked and tasted great and looked very nice. I added ginger to the marinade sauce and also added plenty of wasabli paste to the sauce/marinade. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very impressive when making for that special person. This is a great dish to share over sake or white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I've made this twice and it turns out fantastic each time. Don't be afraid to remove the tuna from the pan at 30 seconds, it will not be raw! Also, I like to mess around with the amount of honey, soy sauce, rice wine and sesame oil to taste. What I did was make the sauce and marinate the tuna in it for an hour or so before cooking it, and then I had a spare bowl of the sauce to pour over the tuna after it was sliced followed by sesame seeds, finally I chill it for a few hours in the fridge. Comes out cold, soft and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Excellent. I agree the wasabi should be added to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I agree with the previous review - this is super fast so get your other items ready first. Great recipe! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have made it twice now and the dipping sauce is great. Be sure to start any sides before your tuna as this is a FAST dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
this came out great! i loved the dipping sauce. my husband definitely ate it up, so we'll be makin it again. next time i'll add a little wasabi paste into the marinade to spice it up some! and i'll sear my tuna just a HAIR longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Made this last night, was very good, didn't have the fancy wines but used a dash of cooking wine, tasted good Best tip would be to melt 1 tsp of corn starch into the sauce and stir it in a hot skillet for a minute or two until it's thick. Thick sauce made for richer flavor! Ate it layered with sliced avocado and sauce drizzled on top! Yum! My kids even liked it! (cooked theirs a little longer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great flavor! Adding the toasted sesame seeds after cooking (per other reviewers' suggestions) works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Outstanding, very similar to what i've been served in high-end restaurants. My wife and kids like it as well. In fact, i've yet to serve this to anyone who didn't like it. If you enjoy a high quality steak, you'll likely savor this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States