Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I love this recipe, but I made several alterations to it. I added only about half the amount of vegetable oil and rice vinegar, and instead of using basic soy sauce I used Ponzu (soy sauce with a citrus flavor - there are a few kinds but I prefer the orange one with a little bit of lime) as well as Hoisin (which is like an Asian bbq sauce). I just add these to taste as I mix a little at a time into the salad. It may sound like an odd combination but it is really very good. I also added a little of each of the sauces to the chicken when cooking it. I also added red, yellow and orange bell peppers. The last time I made it I also just left out the ginger, I prefer the flavor of the sauces and having all that flavor all at once is too much, in my opinion. I have brought this to several parties in place of a basic pasta salad and everyone LOVES it! It is a great dish if you want something unique that is still not too "different" that it would scare people off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I really loved the flavours, so did my husband. My 5 year old was not a fan though. I knew it would be a gamble with him given the strong flavour of sesame oil. But you never know unless you present different things! For hubby and I, I added chili pepper flakes to offset the sweetness. I also added some julienned bell peppers for flavour and crunch. We had some leftover grilled chicken to use up so this recipe was handy. It's quick, tasty, and simple to make. To ensure the dressing doesn't sit on the bottom, don't rinse the pasta. Put the dressing on while the noodles are still warm, then refrigerate the pasta salad for at least 2 hours, stirring after 1 hour. It coats well and distributes evenly. I used the conversion on All Recipes to half the recipe; it was perfect for 4 servings and there's enough left over for one lunch. This dish is good cold and warm. I could hardly stay out of it before putting it in the fridge to chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The flavor was good, but I think it needed more dressing. Next time I will double it. We did wait 24 hours before eating it, so maybe too much got absorbed by the pasta. Also, I will reduce the amount of pasta and increase the veggies: shredded carrots, snow peas, green onion, red peppers, maybe water chestnuts. It just came out a little dry and bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was OK...but not as flavorful as expected. I added more soy sauce afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made for my sons baptism, the adults loved the spicy edge to it, the kids not so impressed. Eyed most of the ingredients instead of measuring and let it chill overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is great! Even my picky teenagers ate it. I used pulled chicken from a store-bought rotisserie. I also added shredded carrots and broccoli for vegetables. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made this, this afternoon, put it in the fridge and then ran some errands. When I got home I tasted the salad and, it's so good I couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe with the exception of taking advice from previous reviews and cutting the oil back to a third of a cup, I used part vegetable and part EVOO, I used fettucini pasta, and rotisserie chicken, also added a sprinkle of hot pepper flakes. This was easy, quick, and excellent! Next time I may add extra veggies, but it's wonderful just the way the recipe is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the vegetable oil to 1/3 cup. I used Asian stir-fry noodles in place of bowtie pasta and threw in snap peas, baby corn and julienned carrots. The sauce is very flavourful and tastes even better the next day. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Loved the recipe. I did use less vegetable oil and added shredded carrots. Instead of bow tie pasta, I used a mixture of whole and spinach linguini. Will be making this again many times over for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States