Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These noodles are absolutely amazing. I almost was taken in by the top rated review that totally changes this recipe. Instead I followed the recipe exactly as written. The sweet and spice are perfect and the green onions and sesame seeds give just the right amount of crunch needed. I am not a big sweet lover and have to disagree with reviews that state this is too sweet. Perhaps they altered the sweetness by adding vegetables to the noodles while cooking, or didn't boil the sauce long enough to completely dissolve the sugar. I boiled until I could no longer smell the vinegar, about ten minutes. These noodles can make a wonderful addition to vegetables and or meats, however I would strongly suggest you follow the noodle recipe and cook your vegetables or meat/shrimp separately then add the two together after each is cooked. I did add the noodle mixture to some shrimp and mushrooms, but the noodles kept their original flavor and enhanced the shrimp and mushrooms. This recipe is a keeper. I served it with the baked egg roll recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious. I cut the oil in 1/2 and used canola instead of safflower oil. I added portabella mushrooms and served with the beef bulgogi from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I didn't have any grean onions but the recipe turned out great. I made steamed brocoli to go with my meal, not in the noodles. Awesome with "Asian Salmon" from this site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Excellent and very easy to prepare. Like many other users, I found that cutting down the oil to just 4 tablespoons sesame oil and cutting down sugar to just 3 tablespoons makes a healthier version that is absolutely deliciously. I also cut down the soy sauce to 3 tablespoons because this sauce has a very overpowering flavor, particularly if you decide to make the above changes as well. Sweet and spicy! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I really liked these even though I found them to be a bit too sweet. I served it with Beef Bulgogi (recipe from this site) which is on the salty side so the two paired together very well. However, I will definitely reduce the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was a big hit when I made it for company. I used fresh linguine and because I added shrimp and broccoli, I decided to double the recipe. I doubled every ingredient except the sugar, and it was sweet enough. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I make this sauce and refrigerate it immediately upon it cooling. I then portion out 1/3 cup at a time and toss it with enough soba noodles to serve my husband and me. This makes so much, it easily lasts 5 or six meals. I serve the noodles with stir fried veggies and shrimp or chicken. Also, I buy teriaki flavored chicken meatballs at my local supermarket and serve with my soba noodles and some broccoli, it's sort of Asian spaghetti and meatballs. Anyway, excellent tasting and not at all hot in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I have to say, I have had this cold a day old and hot right away - cold was definitely more tasty. I still liked the hot version but the flavours were more prominent in the cold version. Either way I loved it. I would increase the spice a bit next time and garlic...but I am crazy. hehe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Oh wow! Wonderfully delicious! Since there were only two of us I made half pound of linguine, however next time I will make it a point ot use fresh chinese noodles. After reading other reviews I cut the amount of sugar down to 3T, used all sesame oil , not exceeding more than 4T sesame oil. In place of chili sauce I used hoisin sauce, personal preference. After I boiled the noodles, I drained it, set it aside. In another pot I boiled the sauce. I added 2T cornstarch to thicken up the sauce then added the noodles to let it soak up the sauce. Meanwhile in a large pot I added a drizzle of sesame oil , threw in broccoli crowns (parboiled), bamboo shoots, red bell pepper, thinly sliced, and cooked it. I added the noodles with sauce to vegetables and then garnished it with toasted sesame seeds and handful of chopped cilantro and green onions. The sauce itself is the star of this dish. A perfect balance of flavors -nothing overpowering each other, not too salty, tangy or too sweet. You can serve this as a side dish or main meal and pretty much add any vegetables and/or meat to this dish and it will not fail you. This recipe is a definite keeper and is going into my box for good use again in the near future. I served this with, "Asian Beef Skewers," hot rice and "Chinese Almond Cookies," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Something off about this, I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States