Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I thought this was very flavorful and tweaked according to my needs...the kids actually ate all the veggies in it, so that alone makes it a resounding success in my house. Followed other recommendations and added a few of my own: 1) reduced pasta to 8 oz ( (I am trying to reduce carbs) 2) added bag of broccoli florets that I had steamed with a large handful of shredded carrots and a sliced onion 3) reduced oil to 3 TBSP 4) added 1 cup chicken broth with 1TBSP cornstarch blended in to thicken the sauce 5) added 1 TSP ground ginger to the mix before boiling 6) omitted sesame seeds. This made a very flavorful, colorful, HEALTHY side dish that even my incredibly picky kids enjoyed. I can't wait to try it cold as well, because the reduced fat content should make it taste better chilled. Thx for the great recipe scoop nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I haven't tried it, but the photo looks nothing like the ingredients, I think I see water chestnuts and broccoli in the photo, huh! .? I have now tried it,big success , I added a can of water chestnuts and some fresh ginger to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was good the first time, but way too oily, as others have commented so I couldn't give it 5 stars. The flavor though, was so intriguing, that I wanted to try it again, but with adjustments to the recipe, it was superb. Since there is sesame oil in it, I left out the safflower oil and cut the vinegar by half. Added 1 teaspoon grated ginger. Oh my! I also only used half the amount of pasta, since I didn't think there was enough sauce for a pound of pasta. Another time I cut up a large chicken breast into bite size pieces, stir fried the meat, threw in sliced raw mushrooms and quartered sliced zucchini. Added to the noodles, it was a complete meal. Next time I am going to use shrimp. Leftover pork or chicken would be great too. Very flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe was really easy to execute and came together in less than 30 minutes. Also, it is addicting and delicious. I added steamed broccoli and fake chicken for some vitamins and protein, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
great with our teriyaki , sesame or general tso's chicken recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Just the right balance between sweet and spicy for the average palate. Really easy and economical. It also reheats well in the microwave, a plus for me since I made it ahead for meals during the week and froze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I really enjoy the versatility of this recipe. After trying it as written for the first time, I made these changes: Following other reviews, I reduce the oil and sugar by 1/3. I do sub chili oil for chili paste because it's what's in my pantry. Put a cup of edamame in it, along with some onion an orange pepper. For the initial serving, I heat the noodles in the sauce, per one recommendation and serve it warm. Put the rest in the fridge to serve as a cold salad. That way I have the best of both worlds. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I JUST MADE THIS FOR A POTLUCK. WONDERFUL FLAVOR! MADE AS DIRECTED.I DOUBLED IT, USED SPAGHETTI NOODLES,PEANUT OIL, AND TOASTED PEANUTS AND SESAME SEEDS.I WILL SERVE IT COLD. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Fabulous recipe - except I used Asian sweet chili sauce(1-2Tbls). We absolutely love this - we have Japanese panko breaded pork thin cutlets with it. Ivy 123
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Wow, this dish turned out better than I thought. The layers of ingredients really mixed well in taste. I did not have safflower oil on hand nor did I have chili paste. Instead, I used one tablespoon of chili oil (I thought this would have made up for the two). I also used thin whole wheat spaghetti and it was just as good. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States