Sesame Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Oh, how I LOVE this recipe! Following other reviews, I add minced fresh ginger & chopped cilantro, and I reduce the oil to 4 T. and sugar to 3 T. I use only 1 1/2 t. chili sauce because I'm wimpy that way! Thicken the sauce with 1 t. cornstarch mixed into 1 c. chicken broth, and stir in 1 T. toasted sesame oil at the end, off heat. Optional add-ins make it even better: shredded napa cabbage, red bell pepper strips, blanched & sliced snowpeas, and/or cooked & cubed chicken. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTGERCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this today to go with Michelle's Roast Chicken. I needed something in the same taste-vein. I subbed vegetable oil for the safflower oil, because I didn't have it. I also didn't use chili sauce because my kids have to be able to eat it. They don't like spicy food. Very tasty. I served it as a cold side, as it's pretty warm here lately. Refreshing and light. My husband fell in love with it, and he can be a little picky. I had to restrain him from eating the whole bowl. I will make this again for sure. EDITED: Now that I'm cooking to reflect a low-sodium/low-fat/low-sugar lifestyle, I now make it like this.... I'll cut the noodles in half and used a little over 1/2 bag of shredded coleslaw mix in place of the missing noodles. I now use EVOO instead of safflower oil, honey or Splenda brown sugar blend instead of sugar, low sodium soy sauce and after I toss the sauce with the noodles and coleslaw, I chill it. Right before serving, I sprinkle the servings with a little chopped, roasted unsalted peanuts or cashews. I've made this for four years now and I've got to say that this is one of our most favorite recipes from AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Since the temperature is already hitting triple digits here in Las Vegas, I decided to serve this cold as a salad. I made the sauce as written except I added a little crushed ginger from a jar from Trader Joe's. I had 2 different kinds of chile garlic sauce; 1 Chinese and 1 Vietnamese, so I said what the heck and put in a tsp of each. I used Chinese Yung Chung noodles instead of linguine; and to make it more like a salad, I added a chopped, seeded cucumber, some edamame and some cilantro. This came out delicious!......Since I wrote this original review back in 2007, I've become more health conscious and now when I make this, I omit the vegetable oil completely, use Splenda instead of sugar, and not so much of it, bump up the dark sesame oil by a couple teaspoons, increase the chili garlic sauce and use whole wheat noodles. The dish is still delicious, but as DH said, it tastes fresher and lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe is so good it should come with a warning: may be addictive! It's sweet and spicy and what's great about it is you can adjust the amount of sweet or spice depending on your tastes. It can be a main dish or side dish depending on what you do with it. You can add veggies, shrimp, beef, chicken; the possibilites are endless. Like others, I cut the amount of oil in half and fresh pasta is best. If you don't like things too hot, use hoisin sauce instead of chili sauce. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe is extremely good. To make this taste authentic use FRESH pasta (I use "Basic Pasta" from this site), if you don't care to make noodles, just buy a package of the fresh linguine if you can, that alone made this dish 50 times better.. I cut the oil in half (sometimes I use canola depending what I have on hand, but safflower has more health benefits) I also sometimes use Agave rather than sugar. I also replace 2 tablespoons of vinegar with mirin, and add some garlic chili sauce. I served this dish tossed with fresh stir fried veggies and egg rolls on the side.. my family and friends said they would rather have me cook Asian any day, rather than eat at a greasy takeout. To be honest it tastes very similar to PF Changs lo mien. Add all your favorite stir fry veggies to this! This is going into the recipe collection for sure. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was really good. Instead of just tossing the noodles with the sauce, I let it all simmer/fry on fairly high heat so the noodles could really absorb the flavor and have more of a pan-fried noodle. I also replaced the safflower oil with peanut oil. They were delicious! Next time I think I will lighten up on the amount of oil and use fresh noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
With adjustments this was very nice! I used canola instead of safflower oil & cut it back to 3 tbp., I used a bit more than a tsp. of chile paste instead of chile sauce, cut back on the vinegar & sugar a little & I used rice noodles instead of linguine. I thought it had just the right ratio of flavors going on...not too spicy, not too sweet, not too vinegary & not too oily. This worked perfectly w/ some leftover Mahogany Chicken Wings (I used legs though & for this meal, I removed the meat from the leg, chunked it up some & served it on top of these noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
These noodles were so good and so easy to make! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe; I'll definitely be making these again. I followed the suggestions of earlier reviewers and cut the sugar by about 1/3 and used fresh noodles. They turned out fantastic. I halved the recipe because I was only cooking for two, but next time I'm making the whole batch so I have some yummy leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I have tried many sesame noodle recipes, but after I made this recipe, I ripped up all the old ones! The chili is a great addition. I used Hoboken Eddie's spicy thai chili sauce (it has extra garlic, hot peppers and herbs). I make this every week now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avigayil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Oh wow! Wonderfully delicious! Since there were only two of us I made half pound of linguine, however next time I will make it a point ot use fresh chinese noodles. After reading other reviews I cut the amount of sugar down to 3T, used all sesame oil , not exceeding more than 4T sesame oil. In place of chili sauce I used hoisin sauce, personal preference. After I boiled the noodles, I drained it, set it aside. In another pot I boiled the sauce. I added 2T cornstarch to thicken up the sauce then added the noodles to let it soak up the sauce. Meanwhile in a large pot I added a drizzle of sesame oil , threw in broccoli crowns (parboiled), bamboo shoots, red bell pepper, thinly sliced, and cooked it. I added the noodles with sauce to vegetables and then garnished it with toasted sesame seeds and handful of chopped cilantro and green onions. The sauce itself is the star of this dish. A perfect balance of flavors -nothing overpowering each other, not too salty, tangy or too sweet. You can serve this as a side dish or main meal and pretty much add any vegetables and/or meat to this dish and it will not fail you. This recipe is a definite keeper and is going into my box for good use again in the near future. I served this with, "Asian Beef Skewers," hot rice and "Chinese Almond Cookies," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States