Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This recipe interested me for its sheer simplicity and for its cooking method. My curiosity was enough that I was determined to make it as written-which meant resisting the urge, first of all, to add fresh garlic. I was not disappointed. While adding garlic here would seem obvious, I wanted something beyond the same ol' same ol'. This is simply wonderful--just as written. And as for the cooking method--it worked out perfectly and the beans were bright green, fresh and with a just right taste of sesame from the oil and seeds. I think adding garlic as so many others have done, would have totally negated the whole point of this dish, and would have masked that delicate sesame flavor. Add it if you like, but then these beans are still the same old green beans with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This was a great easy way to make vary green beens. As suggested by others, I added minced garlic to the oil and then a little soy sauce with the beens and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Wonderful and so easy! I made this dish for a family get-together and doubled everything. I used 2 lbs of frozen cut green beans (rather than fresh ones) and the cook time was still about the same. Everyone loved these green beans. Thanks for a great recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Yum. I've made these a few times now. They're just so easy to make, and I love how I don't have to use any butter. I use EVOO for browning the sesame seeds, and I also throw in a little bit of garlic before I add the green beans (I use frozen, btw.. it's so much easier!). And something to try if popping sesame seeds is too much of a hassle: toast them in a 350 deg oven for about 10-15 minutes instead of frying them. Less mess, problem solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annersmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I used a splatter screen when I toasted the sesame seeds but not many popped on me. I did add sesame oil in w/ the olive oil to add flavor...was fearful of the sesame oil burning if I had only used it. The 1/4 cup of broth evaporated away as soon as it hit the hot pan so I added more chicken broth (probably close to another half cup). I cooked the beans exactly 10 minutes & they were perfect! Still a bit crisp but yet tender. These were a great companion dish to Mahogany Wings (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
OUTSTANDING! Easy and delicious. I gave this 5 stars and like someone else said - if there was a higher rating, I would use it! Even if you only "tolerate" green beans, you need to try this recipe. You will be happily surprised. I will cook this again and again! Marty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I tried it with the broccoli. If you are doing broccoli though, it doesn't need 10 minutes. Six minutes will be fine; 10 minutes makes them soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great recipe - even for those who 'don't like' green beans. I've made this recipe for years and always received compliments. I add 2 tsp. finely minced garlic when cooking the sesame to give it a kick and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I brought this dish to a dinner of finicky guests. It was a HUGE hit with everyone. Three guests made me write down the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
So simple and so yummy. This is a keeper. I had a mix of yellow and green beans from the farmer's market on hand, and they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States