Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These turned out so flavorful and the texture was a perfect crisp tender. I did use half olive oil and half sesame oil which gave it more of an Asian taste. A perfect accompaniment with teriyaki chicken and fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I substituted sesame oil for olive oil, added a bit of garlic, and red pepper flakes for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was good, for a side dish. I admit, I felt it tasted a little bland, as written, and I ended up adding garlic powder and onion powder. I felt the additions gave it more flavor. I will use this one again, and rate it 5 for a fine base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
They lacked flavor and nobody really cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good! I was following the directions exactly, until... I realized the left over BBQ pork loin I was planning on heating up and serving alongside the beans had been used in someone's sandwich. I only had about a 2 oz piece left. So I cut it in half sliced it thin, then added those small pieces to the beans just before adding the broth. Delicious. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These green beans are delightful! I love this recipe. Be sure to brown the sesame seeds so their flavor really comes out. They were perfectly seasoned as written, no changes necessary for this recipe! However, I did have to use canola oil because I ran out of olive oil, but it was a success anyways. They were a wonderful side dish for "Super Grilled Salmon" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These beans turn out tender-crisp, green, and full of flavor without using butter. I resisted the urge to change anything (especially the minced garlic urge) and made them as written. I would make them again with no changes. I did have to add a little more chicken broth probably because I cook at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My toddler daughter ate all of her green beans and mine. So tasty and tender. Upon advice of other reviwers I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock. This will be a new go to recipe for green beans for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radtechnc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Sorry, but we did not enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
has a surprising amount of flavor thanks to the chicken broth. i only needed to cook my beans a few minutes, not the full ten. i'll for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States