Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was a nice side dish, but I really couldn't taste the sesame seeds. I always follow the recipe the first time, but next time I make this, I'll add a bit of garlic and a splash of fresh lemon or lime juice to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
So simple and so yummy. This is a keeper. I had a mix of yellow and green beans from the farmer's market on hand, and they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
this was pretty good :-) I'm always looking for good side dish, esp. for vegis & esp. for green beans, which we can get lots here :-) When i prepare the Asian dish, this goes even Better as its side dish, cuz of the sesame seeds :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These turned out so flavorful and the texture was a perfect crisp tender. I did use half olive oil and half sesame oil which gave it more of an Asian taste. A perfect accompaniment with teriyaki chicken and fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I substituted sesame oil for olive oil, added a bit of garlic, and red pepper flakes for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was good, for a side dish. I admit, I felt it tasted a little bland, as written, and I ended up adding garlic powder and onion powder. I felt the additions gave it more flavor. I will use this one again, and rate it 5 for a fine base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
They lacked flavor and nobody really cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good! I was following the directions exactly, until... I realized the left over BBQ pork loin I was planning on heating up and serving alongside the beans had been used in someone's sandwich. I only had about a 2 oz piece left. So I cut it in half sliced it thin, then added those small pieces to the beans just before adding the broth. Delicious. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These green beans are delightful! I love this recipe. Be sure to brown the sesame seeds so their flavor really comes out. They were perfectly seasoned as written, no changes necessary for this recipe! However, I did have to use canola oil because I ran out of olive oil, but it was a success anyways. They were a wonderful side dish for "Super Grilled Salmon" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These beans turn out tender-crisp, green, and full of flavor without using butter. I resisted the urge to change anything (especially the minced garlic urge) and made them as written. I would make them again with no changes. I did have to add a little more chicken broth probably because I cook at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States