Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and I wouldn't change anything. The beans were very tender without being mushy, had a very nice, subtle flavor. Quick and easy and great for my low-calorie diet. I used these as a side for the maple and garlic- marinated pork tenderloin recipe from this site, which is also a big winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Absolutely loved it. Simple, quick, very tasty. Will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
A teaspoon of garlic powder really livens these up! I can finally enjoy green beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made these for Christmas eve dinner, they were a huge hit! So easy and simple but amazing flavor. I actually forgot to add salt and pepper and they were still perfect! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Used Butter instead of olive oil... About 3-4oz Brought my heat up so that the butter was just starting to bubble... Added 1 1/2 tbsp of "raw" white sesame seeds. Stir often... Don't let the butter brown. (A lot of the exploding seeds comments are because you're heating the seeds up too high and too fast) The seeds will gradually toast and turn a nice light brown colour. I added 1 1/2 lbs of fresh, clipped green beans in 2" pieces. Toss the beans often... You need to cook the beans a bit without letting seeds settle and burn. (It happens quick!) After about 2 mins (the beans turned bright green, but were still crisp) Pour in 1 1/2 cups of unsalted chicken stock. The pan should be hot enough to sizzle and almost immediately boil, but not too hot that you have a nuclear explosion! (a lot of comments that the stock immediately disappeared= The pan was way too hot!) Cook the beans in stock about 3-4 minutes till al dente. Remove the beans to a dish. Reduce the liquid down by 2/3.. Re-add the beans, toss and serve! Beautiful taste, texture & aroma. S&P to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I like the method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Nice and easy side dish. I served with Asian Lettuce Wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Great news! There is hope for the good ole green bean! I made them exactly as the recipe indicated and, wa-lah, that was some good eating! I concur with others who were con adding garlic, I like the taste of the sesame seed and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny's Good Eatin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Delicious! Instantly one of my favorite recipes thus far. Green beans have never tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiee17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States