Sesame-Crusted Tuna with Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I couldn't find wasabe powder, so I just used wasabe paste. My husband tasted the summer salsa without the tuna and didn't like it at all. BUT when served with the tuna, both of us thought it was perfect. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
An outstanding recipe. I used a sushi grade of Ahi Tuna and made the recipe exactly as directed. The flavors were very complimentary of one another. This dish presents very well for entertaining. I only regret that I ate it before I took a photo of it, to submit. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
WOW! Fast & delicious! Loved it, can't wait to do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
SO good! I didn't use the wasabi powder but I did put lime zest in the salsa and it was fab! Will do it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! Easy, light and refreshing. I of couse had to add some additional things for preference. First I used sesame oil instead of canola. For a better presentation I also used white and black sesame seeds. Lastly salsa isn't salsa to me with out onion, garlic and cilantro so I added some of each. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow! This recipe makes you look like a chef! I cubed my tuna and cooked it in a covered skillet with a little canola oil (I don't have a grill). I also had a little wasabi mayonnaise on the side. It was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Wow, I impressed my wife with these. Tuna was a little pricey at $7 each but the salsa was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The summer salsa is the BEST part of this recipe. I've made it since on it's own for tortilla chips and think it would be great with tilapia or shrimp. This was fantastic with a nice semi dry white wine. Fantastic! Make sure your avocado and mango and nice and ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rho.mox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe was easy to prepare, the presentation was nice, and it tasted wonderful. CHANGES: I followed another reviewer's advice and added a little bit of onion, garlic, and fresh cilantro to the salsa, but I think it would've been good without it too. I also used a combination of sesame oil and canola oil and sprinkled a little soy sauce on the fish before coating it with sesame seeds. NOTES: I had never cooked tuna steaks before, so I went with the 4 min per side that is stated in the recipe, but it was too long. I think 2 to 2.5 min per side would've been enough. To be fair, its entirely possible that I had the heat up too high. The next time I prepare this (oh yes, there will be a next time), It will be absolutely perfect. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The tuna itself needed a bit more flavor. Without the salsa (which was really yummy), it wouldn't have held up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States